Altered tin

Hiya all. Nina here. As my first post on the blog, I’d like to share a simple tutorial with you. This is a pretty cool way of using those vintage papers plus if you have a fabulous vintage image (which of course we have in abundance in our kits *insert grin here*).

First, you’ll need a tin.

And some of these: book pages, a fabulous vintage image, your decoupage adhesive of choice, and some coloring materials. Ink the vintage image and torn book pages on all sides.

Voila.

It needed a little bit of oomph. So I added these: Maya Road felties, beads, a vintage postage stamp. Add your words of choice with alphabet stamps and use a stronger adhesive for the beads.

And here you go with the finished piece.

Just a note: Do subscribe to our newsletter for great tips, tutorials and of course the latest news with Gauche Alchemy! See you next time!

6 Responses

  1. Love how you layered the papers and colored some of them. The little birds are adorable! I’ve been saving those tins but never do anything with them – now I’m inspired.

    Great tutorial. Love it.

  2. I’m starin’ at three of them right now! Thanks for the great tut.

  3. Just thought I’d leave an update, the base decoration of the tin is drying- I keep picking it up hoping it will DRY! I’ll flickr it when I’m done.

  4. lol. Good for you, Joyce! It took me ages before I could decide what to do with the tins I’ve been hoarding. Sometimes it’s just ready, set and do it. =)

  5. This is a great idea!!

  6. Last night was the altered tin, to night is a plastic tray and 4 of those 9oz nut containers- I’ve got the insides in various drying stages- I’ll see how many of them I can use gauche product on

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

