Cupcake Stands

Cupcakes continue to be a popular dessert in cities and kitchens across the country. Next time you are serving these individual pieces of heaven, try this simple project to elevate them from Plain Jane to Ooh-la-la.

The base is made from a small terra cotta pot and saucer. Glue them together as shown, let dry and then paint with gesso or primer. Next paint your pots however you wish. I chose to use several coats of spray paint for a more even coverage. I also topped the spray paint with a coat of varnish for durability.

Next is the fun part – decorating.

In my Wholey Sheet kit I had some wonderfully aged dictionary pages. To make the stand below:

1. Cut strips from dictionary pages and edge with a border punch. Adhere with decoupage glue.

2. Hand cut irregular circles and glue to base.

3. Attach the thin strip leftover from scallop punch around the bottom.

I made a second one a little more girly by adding a few embellishments from the Scarlet Fever found objects color kit.

You don’t want to mix food and paint or glue so be sure to add an extra cupcake liner or doily underneath your treat for extra protection.

If any of you make cupcake stands I’d love to see them. Please leave a comment so I can take a look.

Warmly,

Nicole (Perky Nihilist)

11 Responses

  1. Love it! :D Though I have to say – cakes in our house never last long enough to look pretty on a cake stand… may have to make one for my crafty bits instead ;)

  2. What a great idea…love it.

  3. WOO HOO! Nicole has returned! Love this cupcake holder idea… definitely on my ‘must-try’ list!

  4. Love it Perky. Your art is always so darn inspiring.

  5. Nicole that is too cute!!!!

  6. Awww, Nicole, what a cute project! Fabulous! =)

  7. *faint*

    Cutest idea ever!!!! I am so going to try this ASAP!

  8. Greetings from Singapore!! A ‘follower’ from my blog recommended me to check out this blog of yours, and oh yes, looks like we do have some similarities!!! and i really am happy to “find” you thru her!!
    I’m very ‘backdated’ on I.T, so my blog is not as ‘attractive’ as others (lol) ;-D
    Will definitely visit here more often too!!
    Peace and Luv : July

  9. OHHHH so darn cute!

  10. If this was put in front of me, I don’t think I would eat the cupcake! Its all TOO beautiful!

  11. oh my! yours is to die for cute! Can i post a picture of it on my blog? I will for sure leave a link right back here so you can have all the glorious credit!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

