When Nature Calls, You Gotta Get Sketchy

Hi everyone!

Maggi here, ready to announce our newest chance for you to win some rockin’ Gauche Alchemy goodness! I’m pleased as punch to tell you that for the month of September, Gauche Alchemy is sponsoring the Sketchy Thursdays Challenge Blog!

Sketchy Thursdays is a fun challenge blog that uses sketches as inspiration for your creations and we here at GA are super excited because we’ve decided to give one lucky participant our new kit, Nature Calls!

For your creative consideration and to use for this challenge, here is the sketch:

Our DT took this sketch, made it their own (in a sort of “smack it up, flip it, rub it down” if you will :P) and here are their fabulous projects!

Pam:

I made a card using pieces from the Lady Marmalade and Black Out Mixed Media Color Kits. I am trying hard to use my stash up and have a sheet of boy rubons sent to me when I was on the Kaisercraft DT. They are not the kind of things I would put on a boy scrapbook page though, so I decided to make a card for my 17 year old daughter who is about to leave home to go to university. I don’t think 17 is too young to develop some good healthy cynicism-so this card is to remind her that while many girls wear their hearts on their sleeves, many boys wear their hearts in their trousers!!-so take care!

Yvonne:

I made this layout using the BabyKiddoCutie Paper Craft Kit!

Carmen:

I swear, I SWEAR I was going for kitsch and cute with this. :P One little Glossy Accents accident on the napkin, I turned her into a zombie to cover it up and… well… I have no defense! Still, What better way to take your mind off being undead than to serve up some brain pie, eh? Mmmm…Brains. *g*  I used the Paper Napkin Art Kit, some Ouchless Cardboard and some bits from Banana Hammock, Black Out and Pink Parts Mixed Media Color Kits.

Stephanie:

I used this sketch as inspiration to create my very first art journal – this is the cover. I used some patterned paper and rub-ons from the BabyKiddoCutie Paper Craft Kit, some Punchinella for stenciling (and Glimmer Mist to spray through it), some random pieces from the Wholey Sheet Kit, some white acrylic paint and some random ‘stuff’ from my stash. Basically, I just sprayed, painted and glued until things were glitzy enough for my magpie self, and the only guideline I was working with was hoping to end up with the final result looking at least slightly like the sketch! (LOL!)

Kas:

The green triangle and cut-out flower are from a wallpaper sample in the Wholey Sheet Kit. I added 2 different pieces of Punchinella to the side. My daughter was 5 in this picture so the money from the Pink Parts Mixed Media Color Kit was just perfect. The butterfly and sequins are from the Wedding Night Mixed Media Color Kit. The buttons and plastic flowers are from the Pink Parts and Envy Mixed Media Color Kits. The doily was from the Kitch Delish Paper Craft Kit.

Merdrey:

Here’s my take on the sketch! I rotated it 90 degrees counter clockwise so it is somewhat like a pyramid!

I used the Wedding Night Mixed Media Color Kit (square button, white fabric leaves, pom-poms), Ouchless Cardboard, Punchinella and the piece of paper that says ‘A Few Notes’.

Angela:

I used the Wholey Sheet Kit, Ouchless Cardboard, Scarlet Fever Mixed Media Color Kit, Punchinella, American Crafts Thickers and free stickers collected in Little 5 Points. The patterned paper is a photograph I took in Little 5 Points in Atlanta that I had made into 12×12 scrapbook paper at craftassy.com.

Deb:

Now that you’ve seen the Design Team’s take on the sketch, head on over to the Sketchy Thursdays Challenge Blog to see their DT’s creations and to link up your own for a chance to win our newest kit, Nature Calls!

Now go glue something awesome onto some awesome something!  :D

===============================
Want to know what else is brewing at Gauche Alchemy?

Get our ACME kit delivered to your door every month with our ACME Subscription service!
Go shopping for your own Gauche goodies in our rockin’ Store!
E-mail us anytime: gauchealchemy@cox.net
Join the Gauche party on Facebook!
Stalk us on Twitter!
Drool over Gauche creations and add your own in our Flickr Group!

14 Responses

  1. Oh Pam – yours did make me chuckle. I bet she loves it! Amazing work here again girlies – I know I say it everytime but I can’t believe how different they all are when we all worked from the same sketch!

    Love them all.

  2. WOW, great stuff! I love every one of them.

  3. Thanks so much for sponsoring this challenge!! We love having you partner with us for this!!! :)

  4. Great job, ladies! Pam, hubby liked your card!

  5. I am so excited to have you guys playing along with and sponsoring Sketchy Thursdays this month!!!!! I was so looking forward to seeing what you’d do with the skech and I was NOT disappointed! Woohoo!!!!!

  6. Right MZ Wing – Carmen _ Alice lover – I will do the challenge BUT – I want to see a Goddess – K?????

    Dx

  7. Deal! I shall send you a photo of myself forthwith :D

    No?

    Oh OK, I’ll start on my goddess! Can’t wait to see everyone’s entries for this challenge.

  8. You ladies do such awesome work. Pam, your card cracks me up – or at least your explanation of where boys keep their hearts. Carmen, I know you meant to make this cute and the zombie thing was strictly an accident. Riiiiiiiight. Steph, congrats on your first art journal! You gonna love it! Deb, your found objects are makin’ me drool…. and all of you… man, so much talent here!

  9. Oh my! I love seeing all the different takes from one sketch!

  10. wow – these are all so incredible! great job on the eye candy girlz!

  11. awesome girlz!!!! the are so cool!

    I decided to enter the challenge,, here is my take on the sketch,, let me know what you think of it.

    http://kristietaylor.blogspot.com/2010/09/get-sketchy.html

  12. NUTS!I did a really long reply to your article but my internet cut out and I lost it all! Oh well, just wanted to say that it was a great article! Nicely done!

  13. Yet another fantastic post, always great to visit your website! Keep at it!

  14. [...] few weeks back i posted some of my layouts on both the Laine’s blog as well as Gauche Alchemy’s blog. Here they are [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

