Textured Altered Canvas by Julia Stainton!

It’s almost the end of May and I’ve been thrilled to guest design for Gauche Alchemy this month. Thanks so much for inviting me!

I just couldn’t leave without sharing one last creation using a Gauche Alchemy kit, a canvas and some paint. This is a great way for using product and making it your own. Anyone can be an artist if they just take the time to try.

Multi-media canvases are really popular right now and I had so much fun creating this one. I admit this is the first time I’ve tried anything quite like this and it was a learning experience but lots of fun. I started off being inspired by the wavy lace that I found in my Gauche Alchemy kit. What you can’t tell from the photo below is that it came as a deep dark royal purple color. For this project though, the texture was all that mattered. You can’t tell from the photo that the clouds are created from a piece of burgundy fabric in my kit, the butterflies were silver and the corrugated cardboard was bright red, can you?!

I’m sorry I didn’t take a before shot as the color was quite eye-popping!

To create this canvas, I adhered the fabrics and papers well to my canvas and then primed over the entire surfaces with Gesso until I had 99.9% of the colors covered. This step can take a while to dry so allow a few hours for that.

 

Once my gesso layer was dry, it was time to add the colors. I painted over the entire canvas with Claudine Hellmuth Studio line paints. I kept adding color until I got the look I wanted. To get a distressed and weathered look, areas of the canvas were coated with Ranger Crackle Accents and allowed to dry. You can see a tiny bit of the subtle cracking texture in the  photo below. To highlight the cracks I’ve sponged on some Distress Ink.

 

To finish up the project, I’ve added in a sweet chipboard banner using some vintage sheet music papers from Gauche Alchemy.

 

 

 

Have fun looking at the wonderful textures in your kits and exploring where the inspiration takes you!

 

 

 

Happy creating! Julia Stainton

 

3 Responses

  1. Great! Good idea to whiten everything with the gesso first, zap all that colour out ready to start afresh. Inspirational idea. x

  2. I love it.. just gorgeous.. nice with whitening it first.. great idea…

  3. [...] Stainton gives instructions for creating this mixed media canvas, below, in a post here from Gauche [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

