Chrissy’s Mini cabinet of curiosities

Hello!

Michelle here with a great project from the multi-talented Christina Colon using our Knick Knack Paddy Whack Kit.

Check it! Isn’t this AWESOME? I love the color and finish of this project!

Knick_Knack_curio_kit_Christina_Colon_mixed_media

We've all seen those great Printer's Trays during our Sunday flea market runs. Here, Chrissy has really made her project shine by painting it white and adding some beautiful metal corners and a drawer knob on top.

Chrissy explains: ” My vision was to keep this project true to my personality, style and character. I’m funky, fun and quirky and this shadowbox is definitely all of those things.

I usually stain wood projects so this time I painted it with gesso and applied Tim Holtz
crackle paint here and there to add texture.  Once the crackle paint dried, I rubbed some distress ink into the cracks.”

inchies_curio_mixed_media_altered_printer's_tray

I love Chrissy's hand made touches. The beads and skullies in the center are remainders from a previous project and the stained acrylic bubbles in a jar is a great detail- I'll have to try painting some in a future project.

“The square bird and girl images were cut from the acetate sheet used to store clear stamps. (I thank the marvelous Miss Amy Wing for that bit of inspirational genius)! I used ephemera that came with the Knick Knack Paddy Whack Curio kit as well as some Hot Pink punchinella and numerous pieces from the Pink Parts, Green Envy and It’s All Gravy,Baby Brown mixed media color kits.

mixed_media_curio_altered_scrabble_tile

The blue tile in the top cubby is an altered Scrabble game piece Chrissy painted blue and applied a Hambly rub-on to. She then covered it with Crackle Accents and added a Tattered Angels frame on it.

I used papers from Sassafras Lass, Origami papers from the Moshi Moshi kit and a magazine page to which I applied a light layer of gesso so just the colors of the page peek through.”

rusty_key_altered_curio_printer's_tray

A great tip from Chrissy- use hot glue on a wound up hemp twine to create that wonderful roll around the key.

“My finishing touches are the fancy-schmancy corners by Tim Holtz and that WONDERFUL treasure of a drawer knob!  I love that li’l touch!  And no curio is complete without a rusty key.  I wrapped some hemp twine around it tightly and let go of it.  It loosened up and when I liked how it looked, I hot glued that bad boy.”

This is a great project Chrissy! I have my own curio kit just sitting there all lonely right now… I think I’m… OFF TO THE SCRAP DESK (wooshy flying noise).

Chells out!

Check us out via the social nets mi gente!











7 Responses

  1. This is beautiful and funky! I love the door knob, and key, and…well all of it!

  2. Awesome job on this Chrissy! Love how different each little cubby looks!

  3. Wow. Gorgeous.

  4. This is gorgeous. LOVE the colour combo and the scrabble letters spelling out ‘ME’!

  5. Love it! Especially the piece of hemp twine. Nice touch.

  6. So much to keep scrolling up and looking at. Love the scotty dog, the baby, the skullies, the key and twine… wait – just paste your whole supply list in here ;) Love it all!

  7. [...] have LOVED looking at Maggi’s and Chrissy’s Curio Boxes that they made from the wonderful Knick Knack Paddy Whack Kit and wanted to have a go [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

