How To Make Your Own Spray Mists

Hi everyone! Maggi here with our newest tutorial, brought to you courtesy of Alchemist Misty. Today Misty is going to teach you how to make your own mists. Misty’s Mists are a great way to get a wide range of colors in your mists collection at a fraction of the cost. Take it away, Misty!  (That paragraph sets the world record for the most use of the word, “Mist”.)

****************************

Anyone who knows me, knows that I like to layer on the ink, paints and mists on my projects. Unfortunately, I found myself being very frugal with my misting because it seemed like I could go through half a bottle on one project! At $7-$8 a bottle, it was really tough trying not to break the bank just to satisfy my love for misting. So I was determined to find cheaper ways to make it happen. I tried the paint, pearlex and glue idea, and while it got me through some broke times, it just didn’t come close to being as good as some of the big name mists.

Homemade Mist in Action

Misty used her collection of homemade mists on this art journal cover.

So I kept looking and recently, while searching through the paint department at my local Hobby Lobby, I came across Dr. Ph. Martins bombay india inks. The package said that they would work on most any surface and could be used for stamping, calligraphy and airbrushing…oh, and they were archival safe. I figured why not try to make some mists with it. So, with my 40% off coupon in hand I ended up getting 12-.5 oz bottles of ink for less than $20.

Aside from these inks being fairly inexpensive, I love them for two big reasons. For one, they are a permanent, waterproof ink. I love this, because I am one to layer…and layer…and layer! Unfortunately, when I would use other mists, I would have problems with the colors smearing and running together when adding my layers (even if I let that first layer dry completely).

Here’s a comparison of my homemade mists (on the left) and store bought mists (on the right):

Store Bought vs Homemade Mist Comparison

With the Dr. Ph Martin inks, the ink dries faster and even if I layer while my paper is still wet it usually doesn’t mix together making a mucky mess. So that is my biggest reason for loving them. My second reason is because I can make my mists as light or as dark as I want them to be…and I can alter some of the colors by mixing them together to make my own custom colors. Plus, I had 3 or 4 different colors of perfect pearl pigment laying in my stash that I was rarely using. It is a perfect way to add different colors of shimmer to my mists.

So here’s what you need:

Make Your Own Mists
-Small spray bottle.
-Water
-Dr. Ph. Martins Bombay India Ink set
-Rangers perfect pearl pigment (if you want to add shimmer)
-Small paint brush

I used a 2oz spray bottle and filled it up only about a 1/3 of the way full with water. I feel that if I do it in small amounts its easier to control the vibrancy of the color and I can always add water if its darker than I would like. Plus, I think it helps me to keep tabs on how low my ink is getting so I will know when to restock.

Once I’ve added the water, I choose my ink and start adding it to the water with a dropper (one comes in the package of inks). I like rich, vibrant color so I usually add about 3 ink droppers full to get the color that I desire. Sometimes if I’m just wanting a small tint of difference, I might add another color but usually not more than half of the dropper full at a time, because it can drastically change the color! I personally have just used the ink like this and loved it but sometimes I just like to have some shimmer, so that’s where the perfect pearls come in.

If you like a project, to glisten you can easily add it with perfect pearls pigment. Just scoop up some pigment onto the end of a small paintbrush and drop it into your mist, then shake it from side to side and its ready to be tested. If you try it and decide you want more shimmer, just add another scoop. See! It’s so easy!

Homemade Mists

Another awesome usage of homemade mists!

***********************************

Now go glue something awesome onto some awesome something!

Maggi :D

Image Map
35 Responses

  1. Love making sprays but have never seen these inks or maybe just never looked for them. Thanks for the idea!

  2. How amazing is this??!! I will DEFINITELY be buying some of these inks in the VERY near future. Thank you for an awesome tutorial and I know, especially in these times, anything to save a buck on this sometimes pricey hobby is a thumbs up in my book.

  3. Holy India Inks, Batman!!! Stinkin’ AWESOME tut! Love this. Love.

  4. I kneel before the crafty GODDESS that is Misty. FAN FREAKING TASTIC!!!!

  5. lol…you guys are cracking me up! Thanks for the love…and to think I didn’t think this was even really post worthy!

  6. Howdy,
    thanks for the tutorial on DIY mists. I’m gonna try to find those inks.

    But where do you buy your little spray bottles? I’ve found clear spray bottles at Sally’s Beauty Supply – but they’re larger than 2oz!

    Michaels is always out of bottles when I go to their store….

    How/where do you store your 12 bottles of ink spray?

    Peace,
    LuLu

  7. [...] How To Make Your Own Spray Mists – 1 freebie(s)? [...]

  8. I thought I’d commented here but clearly haven’t. Must’ve done it in my head, you know how it is!

    Brilliant tute, Misty! I can’t get those inks in the UK but I’ll keep my eye out for something similar.

    THANK YOU!

    x

  9. Oh my – that is seriously awesome – I too can empty a bottle of that stuff in one sitting – much to my disgust and some of the mists I currently have come off even when I’ve dried them grrrrrrrrr – so seriously going to have to find these now !!!!! Thank you thank you thank you!!!!!

  10. Usually I don’t read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to check out and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, quite great article.

  11. [...] took each piece and Gesso’d them (Gesso’d it IS a word in my dictionary) and added some DIY mists in pink, yellow, and brown. Once the pieces were dry, I glued some yellow punchinella to the back [...]

  12. It’s so weird that I just got two large sets of the India ink for Christmas that I haven’t even opened. I’ve been drooling over Dylusions spray inks, but couldn’t get them because I have been out of work due to major surgery. I looked at my inks today, and thought to myself that I could probably make some very vibrant sprays of my own…yay! I’m so glad to have found your blog :)…perfect timing!

  13. This is wonderful. Thanks for sharing!!!

  14. [...] I read this tutorial about making spray inks, and a little choir of cross-dressing Santas started singing in my head. [...]

  15. Hi there, everything is going sound here and ofcourse
    every one is sharing information, that’s truly fine, keep up writing.

  16. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to
    be really something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely broad for
    me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  17. Wow! I just made fifteen bottles of amazing spray, tested them vs. my existing expensive spray, and voila, as good or better! Very vibrant and easy to make. Thanks for this outstanding tutorial!

  18. I think that is one of the so much vital info for me. And i am satisfied reading your article.

    But wanna statement on some common things, The
    website style is perfect, the articles is really great :
    D. Good activity, cheers

  19. I was recommended this website by my cousin.

    I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty.
    You’re incredible! Thanks!

  20. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site, how could i subscribe
    for a blog web site? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright
    clear concept

  21. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the
    layout of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.

    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.

    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  22. Your method of telling all in this piece of writing is actually good, every one can simply
    know it, Thanks a lot.

  23. Hey There. I discovered your weblog the usage of msn. That is a really neatly written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to learn extra of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  24. Here is a simple, yet delicious recipe for making one the best ever
    grilled chicken recipes:. Place plenty of shredded lettuce or salad mix in an over-sized bowl.
    Sprinkle white pepper, curry and a touch spicy
    seasoning onto the paper plate.

  25. Aw, this was a very good post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort
    to create a good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a whole lot and never manage to get
    nearly anything done.

  26. Simply state whether you are at a beginner, intermediate or advanced level.

    com, all you have to do is choose whether you want 1000, 5000, or 10000 Twitter followers, submit your order and let them do the rest.
    If you follow the right people in your niche, tweet relevant
    information about your business and engage your followers by not acting like a
    robot, Twitter can be an important part of your marketing engine.
    Attempt to become a blogger that tweets by the Twitter rules and one who utilizes the social platform for the advantage of everyone.
    Your followers will tweet out their most valued Twitter followers and suggest that you
    follow them, too.

  27. Of course, you can’t use this type of software without the right label printer.
    I turned over, looking past the blurred outlines of almost empty beer mugs and
    a full ashtray, but the phone continued to ring.
    The ink and the paper used by these printers can last a long time if you purchase high quality supplies.
    The first type produces only one colour on
    a page and it is normally black. There is some conflict over which printer, laser or inkjet,
    is the best to use for different kinds of printing.

  28. The Sarver research team, together with experts from the Arizona Department of Health Services, evaluated
    survival rate data of victims of cardiac arrest. So the overweight person
    is now battling two forces that are gradually taking them into a down hill
    spiral: less and less exercise; and more and more
    food, mostly junk food at that. This especially applies
    to soft drinks of all types.

  29. This can be done with allergy testing or a simple rotation diet.
    * Vitamin B5 (pantothenic acid) is important in adrenal gland function
    and conversion of glucose to energy. We need the water, but not the yucky stuff that comes
    with it.

  30. Excellent, what a web site it is! This weblog presents helpful data to us, keep it up.

  31. The Sarver research team, together with experts from the
    Arizona Department of Health Services, evaluated survival rate data
    of victims of cardiac arrest. So the overweight person is now battling two forces that are gradually taking them into a down hill spiral:
    less and less exercise; and more and more food, mostly junk food at that.
    Sedentary behavior coupled with access to high-calorie foods and
    beverages in school cafeterias and vending machines only exacerbate the problem.

  32. […] fell in love with Dylusion Sprays but it was too damn expensive, so I read here how to make your own.  Maybe my mom got drunk and dropped me as a kid, I dunno, but it was NOT as […]

  33. With Natural Human Growth Hormone Releasers, like Gen
    – F20, it is possible to help the body overcome
    signs of growing older. These are the natural results of aging, which is simply because your body decreases producing HGH or
    human growth hormones. Before buying a HGH kit, take note of these following reminders: take note in the following factors including brand, brand reputation,
    price, shipping, manufacturing methods, side effect as well as other important information.

  34. Hi Maggi, Does it make a difference if you use alcohol or water? I notice some recipe for colored sprays use alcohol and I was wondering if you had tried that? Thanks so much! Juliana

  35. Right here is the right website for everyone who really wants
    to understand this topic. You understand so much its almost tough to argue with you
    (not that I actually will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on
    a topic which has been discussed for years. Wonderful stuff, just excellent!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

