Mixed Media in Flames

Hi everyone! Maggi here with a new project, brought to you courtesy of Alchemist Misty. She has been on fire lately with her projects and this one is no exception:

Mixed Media Canvas

Misty: I really just wanted to play with my new fire template from the crafters workshop because back when I first started scrapping I couldn’t find anything with flames in stamp or stencil, so I was very excited when they came out with this template. With that said, I designed the canvas around the flames. Once again, I used book pages from the ACME Kit and then lightly painted over it with gesso and some mists.

Then, at the bottom of the page I whipped out the modeling paste and smeared it over the template and misted over it with orange and yellow mists. After deciding that I still wanted a little more dimension to the page I used the template and modeling paste technique again, only this time on cardstock. I then fussy cut around areas of the flames and then add it to the top of the existing flames.

Mixed Media in Flames

After that, I took a red fabric swatch from the Scarlet Fever Red Mixed Media Color Kit and cut out a heart. I took my scissors and made tears into the heart…and eventually applied it to cardstock and covered it with Mod Podge. I decided it wasn’t quite grungy enough for me so I experimented with it by adding crackle accents all over it. Once the crackle was dry I used white paint and distress ink to make the cracks stand out more.

Mixed Media Tattered Heart

Experimenting again, I added embossing around the heart and randomly over the entire canvas and then hoped for the best! Finally, I added the title and some journaling around the heart and called it done! I actually liked it better before the drips of “blood”, but this is the time that using the permanent ink can bite you in the butt! lol

Thanks Misty! Sometimes getting bit in the butt is the best thing! (Creatively speaking, of course) 😛

Now go glue something awesome onto some awesome something!

Maggi 😀

Image Map

6 Responses

  1. This is AWESOOOOME!!! I didn’t pick up this template because I didn’t know how to use it but leave it to Misty to show me it’s true potential!!!! LOVE how you layered the flames. LOVE the 3D effect and all the texture in the piece. LOVE the painting you did here. This is fantastic!

  2. This is FANTASTIC! Wowwwwwwwwwwwwww, Misty!! 😀

  3. OH. MY. GOODNESS. MISTY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Fabulous, love love love all the texture and grunge. You really are on fire, girl! I like the blood dribbles, reminds me of the Twilight film.

  4. love it!!!

  5. Simply AMAZING, Misty! The power of the colours and flames and heart all combine to make this a stand-out piece of ART 🙂

  6. This is fiercely amazing! This is awesome!!!!

Leave a comment