Back on my game

I have been feeling so overwhelmed and fatigued lately. Tell you whut – it’s easy to work yourself into the ground when you enjoy your business so much! I have to say I’m happy to have THIS to complain about! 🙂

I’ve been getting back to my productive self the past couple of days, and this is something I made this afternoon with the Nevermore kits. I had so much fun doing it! (Psst… if you want it, it’s going to be up for grabs on Etsy a bit later tonight… or follow the tutorial below and make one of your own flavor!)

The card was fairly easy to make.

The front is just layered elements from the Nevermore collage sheet and kit contents. The fiber was run through the center of the card and positioned under a liner on the inside. A Heidi Swapp chandelier was attached to the end on front with a jump ring. The Doodlebug Iron Gate black paper was fancied up on one edge with a pair of fancy scissor-edgers (Victorian design, I think). The definition (“mask”) was crumpled, smoothed out, then inked with two different colors to emphasize the creases.

The alpha stickers are some old Creative Memories mini-alphas I had lying around – jazzed them up a little by layering two different colors on top of one another.  I anchored the top of the fiber on the outside of the card with a Chatterbox snap to keep it in place. The inside paper is the Basic Gray Eva Dauphin that comes with the main Nevermore kit. Clipped the edges with a corner rounder, and the card was done!

The envelope was a bit trickier. The 12×12″ sheet wasn’t quite big enough to make an envelope for the card. I solved this by cutting a square of another pattern to cover the back of the card. Then I distressed the envelope flap by repeatedly folding and scoring it in a few different directions. I added a sprocket and ghost clock face from the add-on kit, attached with a brad. The brad and clock face were inked with Pesto and Raisin alcohol inks (Ranger).

The front of the card features the eye illustration from the collage sheet. It’s framed with a Maya Road acrylic postage stamp frame and covered with Ranger’s Crackle Accents medium (great stuff if you haven’t tried it! Should we offer it in one of our kits? Hmmm….). The wavy lines were hand-drawn and then embellished with stickles.

One Response

  1. Love EVERYTHING! I got my kit yesterday- and I am in love. So excited to start using it!

Leave a Reply

