Blog award!

We got this lovely blog award from Alecia Castro, one of our many uber-talented guest design team applicants. 1. If you’ve been tagged, you can put the logo on your blog
2. Link the person from whom you received the award
3. Nominate at least 7 other blogs
4. Put links to those blogs on yours
5. Leave a message on the blogs you’ve nominated

I didn’t post about this immediately because I’ve had to put so much thought into who WE’RE going to pass this goody along to. But only 7 people to tag? I decided to try (emphasis on the word try) to pick some favorites from each of the type of blogs I follow. I dip into hundreds (I’m not kidding) of blogs and find more to enjoy all the time, so this was not exactly a methodically precise process for me! But here are some of my favs:

In no particular order, we’d like to bestow this blog award on:

1. Ashley Harris, Scrapper’s Block – Ashley is primarily a cardmaker, although her scrapbook pages are beautiful as well… and she just welcomed a baby girl into her growing family! Congrats, Ashley!

2. Sherry Goodloe, Got Art? – a fantastic source of inspiration, Sherry is a mixed-media artist with some pretty amazing ideas. She posted about various ways to artistically use coffee filters a few days ago, including photos of her gorgeous coffee-filter roses. You gotta check these out! (She isn’t posting a tutorial yet, though, as they will appear in a Stampington publication soon!) If you see coffee filters make their way into our kits, don’t be surprised.

3. I am Very Mary – Very Mary is a woman after our own hearts: thrift-shop treasure hunter, paper crafter, lover of fabric and all things vintage… you gotta check her out. And if her blog isn’t enough inspiration for you, check out her Etsy shop, A Very Mary Design.

4. Silje Røe Hagland, SiljeVanilje – if you haven’t discovered her yet, you are missing something. Silje’s quirky vintage style and love of many different kinds of arts and crafts is a source of constant inspiration. Her scrapbook pages are covered in drool. Oh wait – that’s my computer screen. 🙂

5. Sarah Fishburne, ragtags studio – What needs to be said about Sarah Fishburne? I can tell you what you may not know: in addition to being a superb and successful mixed-media artist, she is so NICE. Draw inspiration from her, my friends.

6. Candice Palmer, You Can’t Ask For More Than a Bowl Full of Rice – Candy and I met when we were kids, maybe even in grade school. She was the cousin of a family with a whole bunch of kids who lived in my town. I looked forward to her every visit, and we kept in touch through part of our teen years after I moved away… imagine my surprise when I recently found her online presence and discovered that she is a fantastic scrapbooker and all-around crafty sister? Oh! And her photography is to die for – no kidding. She has lots of good ideas, challenges, and news from the scrapbooking industry – check her out.

Oh, and just so you know, she found a cow-shaped paper punch in the days long before those things were easy to find and used to punch the bottom of the stationery on which she wrote her letters to me. Just cuz that’s the kind of gal she is.

7. Karen Michel, Altered Imagery – I discovered Karen when I bought her book The Complete Guide to Altered Imagery, which is chock-full of funky ways to alter your photos. I find that it also gives me tons of great ideas for using photos that look less than “perfect” to begin with. Her blog does not disappoint, and her links list is enormous! Gotta check her out, for sure.

8. Since the rules state “at least 7,” I’m gonna have to add just this one more:

Julia Rothman, Book By Its Cover – this blog is pure frakkin’ eye candy, people. Its posts are photos from various terrifically yummy books, compiled by NY illustrator and pattern designer Julia Rothman. Her personal website is also worth a look: http://www.juliarothman.com/ OMGZYUM!

Also, keep an eye on our sidebar – I’m (finally) putting up links to the applicants who applied for our guest design team call – so much amazing stuff! You won’t envy us our difficult position when you see what we had to choose from!

4 Responses

  1. Good on you!! I love your card too!!

  2. Cool! New sites to explore! Thanks so much for sharing. =)

    Oh and that is an awesome card below this post! =)

    *hugs*
    Nina

  3. SO FUN!!! Glad you got it posted!!

  4. Thank you sweet Amy! How nice to receive such a prestigious award *smiles*. Have an art-filled week. xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

