Eye candy extraordinaire – Dec kit projects!

Okay, peel your eyeballs and get ready to be delighted – this post is going to be CHOCK FULL of some delightful eye candy and even a tutorial from Nina Patena.

Lets start with some gorgeous projects from our December guest designer, Nina.  I just love these projects – great job, Nina!

We still have a couple of December kits left  – visit our Etsy shop to grab one.

Look at these adorable cards with envelopes!

ninap-cards-plus-envies1ninap-card2ninap-card-1

Then there’s this awesome gift box:

ninap-giftbox

Here’s the inside:

ninap-inside-gift-box-without-accordion

And as if that weren’t awesome enough, here’s a little accordian book that goes inside.  I love the color combination!

ninap-accordion

ninap-inside-accordion

ninap-accordion-2

And finally, here is Nina’s altered book-within-a-book – scroll down for the tutorial!

ninap-book

ninap-inside-bookninap-mini-book

ninap-inside-mini-bookHere’s an altered book I used as a box for a mini-book I made from the kit.

Here’s a step-by-step tutorial:
I found this unicorn journal in a used bookstore for around $3.
1. Apply gel medium to all the sides of the pages of the journal and then clamp the pages with binder clips overnight.
2. Cut a square hole in the middle of the bound pages. Make sure to put a cutting mat between the back cover and all the pages so you don’t cut through the back cover.
3. Stick chosen image from the kit behind the hole.
4. Glue bound pages to the back cover with gel medium and let dry.
5. Paint inside cover and the bound pages with acrylic paint.
6. Stick images from the kit on the inside cover with gel medium and seal images with gel medium.
7. For the mini-book, I used the small book covers of “The Night Before Christmas” that came with the kit and used double-sided tape to stick the green felt tree (also in the kit) to the cover.
8. I also used the chipboard pieces from “Goodnight Moon” that came with the kit as pages of the mini-book. I stuck cardstock (cut to size) from the kit to the back of the chipboard pieces before punching holes in the upper lefthand corner.
9. I also used the vintage Bingo card that came with the kit as binding. I folded the Bingo card and punched a hole in the front half to insert the fiber that came with the kit and used that to bind the “Goodnight Moon” chipboard pieces to the Bingo card.
10. Stick the back half of the Bingo card to the inside back cover of the mini-book.
11. Use a little gel medium to stick middle part of the Bingo card to the middle of the mini-book.
12. Journal inside as a sweet little Christmas gift to a little one.

*hugs*
Nina

Next up – I know you’ve been waiting for it: here’s Yasu’s completed project that she started in our beeswax tutorial.  She decided to make an ornament out of it.  Go to Yasu’s blog to see more of her amazing work, including some similar ATC/ornaments.

yasu-dec-ornament

To pick up where the video tutorial left off:

Yasu machine stitched over the beeswaxed paper (didn’t work so well -may not want to try this at home – resulted in some thread jams and tangles!), added some eyelets, threaded the fiber from the December kit through the top eyelets, and attached a Santa earring to the bottom eyelet.  Then she outlined our happy couple with the Stickles included in the December kit.

Here are my projects using the December kit – I made gifts for my sister-in-law, Melissa, and my mother-in-law.  Let’s start with Melissa’s gift.

amy-dec-box1

amy-dec-box-melissa

How-to:

I started with a great little tea box that my mom gave me, knowing I would find a use for it.  😉  I covered it with the cardstock and patterned paper in the December kit.

Then I painted the edges of the box top with brown acrylic paint.

Next, I cut out the 50’s lady (from an old vaccuum advert) and attached her to the box, top and bottom.  I put the “m” epoxy sticker on the top of the box.

I added a Rusty Pickle rub-on to the side of the box.  (It says: “It’s called personality, and baby, you’ve got it!”)

I took a gold-colored Colorbox Cateye ink pad and ran it over the bottom of the box to give some texture and draw out the texture on the cardstock.

Then I Mod-Podged the entire box.

When dry, I added the green 7 gypsies buckle from the December kit, onto which I had tied a wire-edged ribbon from my personal stash. I glued the buckle to the box using Ranger Inkssentials Glossy Accents (gel medium works just as well).

I added clear square Glitz Frosting rhinestones to the edges of the top of the box.

Here’s the last project I’m going to show you today.  I made these cute re-useable gift tags for my mother-in-law, who is a champion at saving all the pretty wrappings everything comes in for re-use later.  Gotta love that – appreciator of beautiful things AND so green!  🙂

amy-dec-gift-tags-front

Here are the back of the tags – they are spray-painted with Krylon blackboard paint, so they can be written on again and again with chalk!  I wish I could claim credit for this fabu idea, but I stole the idea from… someone.  I’m sincerely sorry I can’t remember who to give the credit to.  (If it’s you or you know where the idea came from, let me know – I’ll credit the appropriate person, of course!)

amy-dec-gift-tags-back

How to:

I used both wooden and heavy cardstock/chip tags.

First, take the tags outdoors (the Krylon paint is REALLY noxious!), lay out your tags on some kraft paper or other backing material (to protect the surface you’re spraying on – unless you want your sidewalk to be a blackboard).  Spray TWO coats of blackboard paint and let dry between coats.

When the paint is dry, cover the opposite side with whatever decorative elements you see fit.

For these tags, I used several items from the December kit: felt penguin and red Stickles (embellished with a pink rhinestone and Ranger pearls for the eye), silver paper and Santa ephemera (from an old nut advertisement), green cardstock, beeswaxed ephemera, tiny ornaments, more ephemera (blue bows), and more stickles (swirls on blue vellum).

Everything else came from my personal stash: Creative Memories vellum, black thread (machine stitching over beeswax – as I said, I learned the hard way this is not a great idea – lots of tangles – machine did NOT like it), Imaginesce Joy rub-on embellished with Copic glitter pens and a rhinestone, stamps embossed with Ranger red puff powder and Tim Holtz Distress powder. I used some Colorbox inks to edge some of the tags.  You could also Mod-Podge them when you’re done to make them more durable (just the paper – not the blackboard paint!).

Then I punched a hole with my Crop-a-Dile and added an eyelet.

Next, I turned the tags over to decorate the blackboard side: stamped in white ink and added a rub-ons and rhinestones.  I used a Ranger Inkssentials white pen to handwrite “to” and “from.”

Then I tied up the tags with a strip of black vintage ric-rac and included a piece of chalk.  I have a lot more painted tags with which I intend to make more re-useable gift tags later.  It’s always good to get the messy/smelly part out of the way in one go!

3 Responses

  1. Awesome eye candy! TFS!

  2. Oh gosh, Yasu, didn’t know what you were still going to add to the ATC to make it even more amazing. And you did!

    Amy, love the box! How beautiful! And love the idea with the chalkboard paint! Love it! =)

    *hugs*

  3. Really gorgeous projects there, ladies!!! Congratulations, Yasu, for another yet eyecatching work! Congratulations, Nina, for your ingenious work, esp. the book-within-a-book project! Amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

