Revealed! Geekery paper crafting kit

February’s kit celebrates all the geeky-cool stuff we love (or at least TELL ourselves is geeky-cool… it’s possible it’s just geeky… but I digress).

We have some exciting news this month. A local Arizona artist whom we met at a craft fair in Phoenix, Roy Wasson Valle, agreed to provide some of the goodies for the kit this month. You will love his quirky and graphic style. He runs a business called Fuzzy Balls Apparel – if you love his snarky themes and sayings as much as we do, rejoice! You can wear them on your body and dress your kids up in a manner befitting your funky taste. We hear that parents of little boys particularly like Roy’s stuff – it’s not your typical soccer-football-cutesy-dinosaur-train type stuff you see everywhere else.

Oh, and he offers FREE printables on his website, as well!

Anyhoo (who the hell says “anyhoo”?)…

Roy has included a bunch of pins, some screen prints, even some stickers in some packages. They are all different – you’ll be delighted with your very own Roy grab bag.

Here are the details:

Geekery Main Kit $39.95
geekery-main1

geekery-add-on-roy

geekery-main2

Science, computers, aliens, cosmology, electronics, books, studious nerds, math… so geek-chic.

What’s included in the main kit:

26 pages of our signature vintage ephemera paper
Exclusive Roy Wasson Valle (FuzzyBalls Apparel) custom packet with 6 badge buttons and misc screen prints
2 pages 8.5×11″ graph paper
2 pages 8.5×11″ ledger paper
1 sheet Basic Gray Macaroni and Cheese 12×12″ paper
1 sheet Karen Foster Spaceship Diagram 12×12″ paper
1 sheet K&Co Wild Saffron Graph 12×12 paper
1 sheet Scenic Route Sonoma Claudia Street 12×12 paper
1 package K&Co Cut ‘n Paste fabric brads (10 brads)
1 Me and My Big Ideas “Genius” rhinestone iron-on
1 Cosmo Cricket Cogsmo die-cut sheet
1 package Cosmo Cricket Cogsmo blackboard
1 card from vintage “Authors” game
10 canceled postage stamps from various countries
1 vintage snapshot
1 fabric swatch (think “Poindexter’s pants”)

In addition, the first NINE main kits sold will contain one of the following randomly-selected EXTRAS:
geekery-extras
Hip in a Hurry Robot decal
OR
Styl’ines double-sided cogs/gears/washers stickers
OR
Daisy D’s cardstock stickers (2 sheets)

Don’t forget our Geekery add-on kit for more coordinated dorky goodness.

Geekery Add-On kit $12.50

geekery-add-on-small

Included:
1 sheet Karen Foster Science Fair stickers
1 four-flap coin folder
3 washers and/or gears
1 red reflector circle, 1″ diameter
2-3 wristwatch parts
18″ mini-tassel fiber
1 numbered Rook card
1 pair of doll eyeglasses

And now… for our DT projects, which you caught a glimpse of last week…

First, here is Glenda’s layout. I am truly blown away by Glenda’s work – I can hardly wait to show you what she’s come up with for us this month! I’ll have to give it to you a bit at a time so we can either prolong the bliss or keep you from suffering an overload of eye candy!
feb-glenda-layout

And Yasu’s – that’s an 1800’s math text covered in beeswax. Remember this tutorial that shows you how to do this?
feb-yasu-layout

And finally, mine:
feb-amy-boat1

Remember my melted crayon tutorial? This is the project on which I used the melted crayon. Specifically, I made a beautiful molten sun over graph paper and a late 1800’s math text:
feb-amy-boat-sneak1

The silver and green bits along the edges are also crayon wax. The dark blue is acrylic paint (the wax is layered over the paint, which was applied first).

I am so proud of this piece. It is my first honest-to-goodness mixed media piece. There’s something else quite interesting about this piece.

I started it 20 years ago. That’s right. When I was 15, one of my mom’s friends was into oil painting and encouraged me to try it. I made a fairly generic seascape with a solitary gull flying in the distance, using a fan brush for the clouds. Then I didn’t know what else to do with it. So, I set it aside.

About a year ago, my mom found it in her stuff and asked if I wanted it back. Sure – why not? Well, a few weeks ago, I had a dream where I was preparing large sheets of paper as backgrounds for artwork, and upon waking the idea struck me to use the 20-year-old oil painting (I’m 35 now) as a background for a piece. I had a fully formed idea of what I wanted it to look like compositionally (don’t you love those drowsy moments between sleeping and waking?), so I pulled out the Geekery kit that was set aside for the design team and went to work.

The brads on the sail are significant – a work 20 years in the making.

Stay tuned this week for the winners of this giveaway and more design team inspiration using the Geekery kit.

5 Responses

  1. It’s thingslike this that make me pleased to be part-geek!!!! LOVE the kit!!

    Your art work is … well, it’s simply a work of art. Just beautiful and worth the wait 🙂

    When I was about 15 I used to be just nodding off to sleep when the solutions to my Physics homework would come to me!!! How about that for a story of slumber-time inspiration AND geekery at the same time?

    x

  2. I just love your sailboat!

  3. WOW! What a fun kit! Definitely calls out to my inner geek. Hehe.

    Awesome, awesome projects too, ladies!

    Amy, love that you were able to resurrect an old project and still make it work! =)

    *hugs*

  4. i definitely have to try that melted crayon technique!!! your work is amazing. ;o)

  5. I saw Amy had visited our new community that caters for anyone interested in anything vintage, scrap book pages, digital, cards, altered items, journals and other projects using a vintage style. I would be very happy to do some reciprocal linking with you. We have a blinkie (badge) available on our site (main page right at the bottom -right hand side – just the word badge – it is customizable to the the colors of your site) and if I may, I will add yours or a link to you from our main page.

    Bree
    Administrator – Vintage Flaire
    Vintage Flaire

    I will add you to my personal blog too
    Bree’s Corner of the World

Leave a Reply

