I’m on a roll!

Check out my latest mixed-media piece, which I am entering into the challenge this week over at Mixed Media Monday. The theme is hearts and wings.

every-woman

I used ephemera from the Geekery kit for layering, and the spectacles are from the add-on kit.

When I started this project last night, I was dismayed to find it a mess at the end. I knew if I let it sit and stew for a bit, maybe I could come back to it. Well, that’s exactly what happened… I was able to look at it with fresh eyes this morning (after my husband said I should put it in the trash! Thanks, hon!) and now I’m pretty satisfied with how it turned out.

That’s what I love about mixed media – just add some more media, cover some stuff up, add a little, and you can rescue what looked like a mess only hours before.

Oh, and by the way, my husband reversed his decision to trash it once I was done. Either that or he’s afraid I’ll kick his ass.

12 Responses

  1. Great piece! Thanks for participating on Mixed Media Monday! Diane

  2. Cool glasses!

  3. Hi, Amy! Nice to meet you. I agree with you about rescuing a mixed media piece. I find that my mixed media pieces have “ugly” stages, which tests my abilities to see “possibilities” in that piece, and I oftentimes want to send it to the trash. But with patience, usually after a few more layers, it evolves. Glad you decided to participate in MMM’s challenge with this beautiful piece. Meaningful title.

    Fannie

  4. I think it ROCKS! Sounds like your DH is like mine…has a good eye and is comfortable enough in your relationship to be totally honest. Mine pushes me to better things when he knows I can do better!

  5. Very, very cool Amy! Am loving all the vintage women images from Glenda’ s work (which I’ve been admiring on Scrapinstyletv.com) and on this one.

    I’ve had to pick up my jaw from the floor every time I see Glenda’s work. That was a coin folder?? Freakin’ amazing!

    Love how you colored the vintage text pages on this one, dear. Am so addicted to vintage text pages now because of your kits! =)

    *hugs*

  6. This is really a “darling” darling!!! (pun unintended!) Seriously, your collage work is breathtaking, Amy. I do love those eetsy-bitsy eyeglasses!!! Wherever do you get these things?! Pure genius!

  7. Thanks, Candy!

    Where do I get these things?! haha… “ancient Chinese secret…”

  8. oh this is so wonderful. The spectacles make this page.

  9. OMG, that is soooooo cool!!! Loooovveee how you used the glasses!!!! This is so amazing and gorgeous! I am going to do a canvas real soon, this has inspired me to get crackin!!!

  10. Your collage looks fantastic, love the spectacles, great work.

  11. Yep, the specs are terrif! I also especially love the wings (because it reminds me of Amy Wing, Jhaleah *-Wing, Anna Wing, Maddie Wing…?)

  12. I love your gorgeous layering on this piece! I think the wing parts are my favorite.

Leave a Reply

