Amazing layouts, Inspired Blueprints, and Acme kits

I have SOOO much to share with you today.

First, we will be working hard over the next week to present some new kits to you. One will be our (quite delayed) April kit… well, now it may be our May kit. But no matter – the theme is perfect for Mother’s Day and will be released in time for you to use it for your Mother’s Day gifts or to record your Mother’s Day photos after the fact. Or you could use it for a layout about your dog. Whatever.

We’ll be putting out another lot of Acme kits very soon – we’re almost out of the first lot. Also, we’re hoping to get at least some of the color kits ready for sale this week.

Now that business is out of the way, let’s take a look at some layouts and projects!

As you may know, we are sponsoring Inspired Blueprints, a sketch challenge site, this month. They are having a sketch BONANZA this month, and I couldn’t resist participating, even though of course, I can’t win my own Acme kit. 🙂 But you can! So head on over to Inspired Blueprints and get involved.

I’m going to start with a couple of layouts that really caught my eye from the Inspired Blueprints design team. These demonstrate such inspiring use of the elements in our kits. I always have so much fun seeing what people do.

This one is from Lynn Kopas, inspired by sketch #18:

ib-dt-layout-just-a-girl

And here’s one from Helen Salthouse, inspired by sketch #13:

ib-dt-little-sister

I just love how Helen has used so many elements from our kit – it shows so well how a little creativity goes a long way with using “non-traditional” supplies.

Here’s one from our very own Yasu, based on sketch #12:
ib-dt-yasu-ticklish

I am always impressed by Yasu’s use of many different kinds of inspiring supplies. Look at that great collage in the lower left corner!

Here are my own interpretations of a few of the sketches.

Sketch #16:
wonderfully-you1

wonderfully-you2

Sketch #15:
daycare-layout

daycare-layout2

Sketch #13:

precious-layout
precious-layout3

One more bit of inspiration. Using our Geekery main kit and add-on kit, I made this little project honoring my brother and neice. It was made out of the coin folder included in the kit. I texturized the acrylic paint used over the surface with heavy gel medium. Then I used a palette knife to apply it and ran different tools through it to make the designs. I filled the letters of Maddie’s name with Ranger’s Glossy Accents.

Good news – we got more Hip in a Hurry Robot decals in stock and will ship one as a bonus with EVERY Geekery main kit ordered. How’s that for a sweet deal? 🙂

maddie-folder1

maddie-folder

maddie-folder-back

One more – I made this layout about my little girl and her new beta fish, which she named “Glub-Glub.”
glub-glub-layout

glub-glub-layout2

3 Responses

  1. I haven’t visited in a while, but I am constantly amazed at the wealth of talent in Gauche Alchemy! Your kits definitely bring out the best in your designers!

  2. Can i just say i have been LOVING the ACME kit?!!!! I’ve been only working in my art journal lately, but pretty much every page has something from the kit in it! Love the old Life Magazine pages – and they smell so inspiring too!
    Can’t wait to see the new kits!

    -lara

    oh, here’s my flickr link – see if you can spot the ACME items 😀

    Finished Art Journal!
  3. Fabulous LO’s based on the sketches – everyone did a great job!

Leave a Reply

