FREEBIE drawing and inspirational projects

Alrightly then… my new modem got here today, and with minimal technical wrangling, I am now back. *The crowd cheers.*

I will be sharing several fabulous projects with you over the next few days – be sure to check back… you won’t want to miss these.

Here’s another announcement. To celebrate my reinstated Internet status AND the fact that we recently broke 20,000 hits, we’re gonna do a giveaway.

Comment in this message (make sure to leave your e-mail address in the poster info) and tell us which color kits are your favorite. Name as many as you like – even the ones we haven’t officially released yet (red, purple, brown, orange, etc.). The deadline for entering is May 22 – that’s next Friday. You’ll win a Color Kit… or maybe two… we’ll see how generous I’m feeling that day. πŸ˜‰

Two of our favorite gals have agreed to be our “Color Kit” whores. Oh, I mean guest designers. (Did I say that out loud?) Look for some projects from Merdrey Chew and Natasha Prymak very soon!

On to the inspiration!

Sylvie LeBlond is our most recent fanTAAABulous guest designer. Take a look at her work using our Happy Housewives kit:

sylvie 1966

I just fall in love with Sylvie’s work every time I look at it. I love her “doodley” style and fresh way of looking at things. Look how she made those cute little hearts out of paper flower petals. The stitching adds so much, doesn’t it? Plus, she used my favorite fabric – those burnt sienna leaves on a cream background… yum!

This is an amazing project by Yasu using a bunch of found objects and other cool vintage thing. By the way, many of these objects are included in our our Color Kits and Acme kits. How much fun is this?!

yasu altered bookyasu altered book inside

I was with Yasu during part of the creation of this altered book. It looks pretty involved, but it’s not too scary. She used glass from a cheap photo frame, and cut the cover of the book to the right size. Then she soldered the glass in place.

She added some clear mica tiles for that aged look. She used a utility knife to cut the inside pages and adhered the edges with some gel medium (Modge Podge works just as well). Last, she filled up the hollowed out space with great images and found objects (Aha! Assemblage!). Wonderful, no?

What the hhhhheck is soldering? Well, it’s nothing too rocket-science-ish.

Here’s a really fantastic tutorial.

Watch this short video to get a more live-action view. Although this is a video shows how to solder stained glass, the concept is exactly the same.

Supplies can be purchased cheaply at electronics or hardware/home improvement stores. Here’s one such kit – here’s a tip: rosin core solder has the flux built right in, so no need to use flux in a different step. Tell you whut – that’s the way I’m going.

17 Responses

  1. oh my, i’ve not been bloghopping for so long Amy!!! and neglecting my crafty side……hmmm, do you have a turquoise kit??? (just to be difficult LOL) or red (have to be a HOT-mumma). Glad you’ve fixed puter yuk.
    xx
    gigi

  2. Those projects are gorgeous!
    I love the white mixed media kit the best, have been drooling over your kits since a friend of mine pointed me over in your direction, just a shame you’re so far away – Don’t know if you’re including internationals in the draw, but have my fingers crossed! Leanne x

  3. wowza- love love love the layout and that altered book has me drooling…absolutely amazing! as far as color kits… i lean towards black and pink.. at least today I do!

  4. Purple purple purple!! I’m all about purple right now. And I really like the white too. Orange will be cool too.. ah heck, I’m just a color junkie πŸ˜€

  5. YASU is my kind of artist.I just love it. Hollowing out an old book was a wonderful idea, Beautiful!!
    My favorite color kit is any that has the majority of pink in it. Victorian or vintage in any way is good but definitely PINK, Thanks, ms.cheryl

  6. I love your pink kit and white and blue !!! haha the page by sylvie is so cute! wish i could come up with ideas like that!! πŸ™‚

  7. I have to say that the yellow kit is my favorite. I would also love to see a black kit. Thanks!!

  8. OOOH! A giveaway from the coolest of the cool!! Yeah! I would LOVE the purple, red, green, blue, pink or orange!!! Thanks so much!!

  9. Wow, LOVE the layout! It is sooo wispy homey beautiful! The pink kit is my ABSOLUTE fav (its my favorite color period)! Pink is so girly spunky and fun! Love it! White is also very very pretty. Though I DO love options so I am smitten with them all.

    -Robyn

  10. OMG..gorgeous LO..love the use of the flowers for hearts..and the altered book is amazing! I love all the colours..but blue and orange would have to be my favourites πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  11. WOW, love your blog, I love to do altered art as well as scrapping, not very good as I have only just started but this blog has definately got my creative juices flowing, If I should be lucky enough to win a kit I love any vintage colours or anything that can be grunged up

  12. oh my-these projects are both wonderful-so different but both fab!!

  13. Your blog is very inspiring. As far as colour kit choice I would have to say the white and would love to see the brown one too.

    thanks

  14. I am LOVING the white color kit i got and am thinking of getting another white one since it’s almost used up πŸ™‚

    I would love to see a “rust” kit but in lieu of that I shall say brown πŸ™‚
    I’m also seriously considering getting the pink kit once i have a little more money cause pink is pretty πŸ™‚

    Thanks for all the inspiration!

  15. […] you didn’t see it, go here to enter our drawing. Deadline is tomorrow, so get […]

  16. Love blue… Love yellow… love orange… love green… love red… I think my eyes just like rainbows lol

  17. […] AND AND…you might have seen from this post that Amy have sent me some of their cutest colour kits to work on…and i have completed my […]

Leave a Reply

