Art journaling and art education books

Dear loyal readers,

Sorry to have been MIA for the past couple of days.  I spent a wonderful weekend with the in-laws.  I regret to say I haven’t had a chance to take a close look at the applications for our “average scrapper.”  If you have no idea what I’m talking about, it because I neglected to post the challenge on the actual blog.  My bad.  🙂  I’ll make up for that oversight someday soon.

I want to report the books I got today at Chez Barnes und Nobles (a mixture of French and German should indicate that I speak neither).  I am so happy with my finds, even if I can’t quite justify spending the money.  😛

First up:

journal revolution

There are tons of art journaling books out there – and I love them all.  But this one seemed especially worth my dollars.  It appeals to me because it has tons of ideas for “bits and bites” of journaling ideas.  Things like using a calendar where you turn the page every day (any idea what I’m talking about?) as your art journal – very cute, and a nice way to record your days.  There are paper plates and brown paper bags, bras and old socks, and best of all… great brief sayings that seem to say a lot more than you’d expect.  Click above to go to Amazon and take a little look around.

Next:

color edwards

Had to look around quite a bit for this one.  I have wanted to learn about color theory for quite a time, but most of the color books out there contain palattes for mixing or for matching hues for projects.  I want to know how it works.  This book is by the chick who wrote Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain.  She starts by writing about how our brains process color, how light changes color, and how colors affect each other.  Then she moves on to color theory.  Next, she talks about the “vocabulary” of color – primary colors, secondary and tertiary colors, analogous and complementary colors, hue/variety/intensity.  Then you get to learn about using paints and brushes… then a bunch of stuff about using color wheels… well, that covers the first four chapters or so.  There are 12 chapters!  It’s not a big book – it’s a fairly slim paperback.

Not your cup of tea?  Too cerebral?  Well, I’m a big dork.  What can I say?  If you’re a big dork, too, click above to go to Amazon and take a peek inside.

And:

acrylic revolution

I’ve been coveting this book for months.  I checked it out at my library and knew it was going to have to live on my bookshelf at some point.  It’s just not the kind of thing you can get full value from in 3 weeks.  Not unless you have one hell of a photographic memory.  It has all sorts of amazing and death-defying tricks inside!  Oooh!  Aaah!  Take a look inside – click above to go to Amazon.

Can’t wait to get to work on this one.  If only I can get some creative time.  😦

Well, that’s enough for tonight.  I bought two other books, but I’ll introduce you to them tomorrow.  Yeah – I went a little crazy in the art section at the bookstore today. 🙂

3 Responses

  1. Ooooh – i LOVE books! Forget shoes and handbags, the shops I could empty four times over include scrappy shops and book shops! All three of those look yummy, hope you’re enjoying them!

  2. I always go nuts in B&N. It helps that the hubby gets the employee discount there though, lol. I know what you mean about coveting books-they have a book about ATCs that I look at everytime I’m there! lol

  3. I have Journal Revolution (you realize you now need Visual Chronicles right? haha) and have wondered what that Acrylic Revolution was like. I guess I need that too! haha Oh, if you love art journal books you have to get 1000 Artist Journal pages (talk about eye candy!!!!) here’s the link to look inside
    http://www.amazon.com/000-Artist-Journal-Pages-Inspirations/dp/1592534120/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1245260124&sr=8-1

Leave a Reply

