My first Christmas card for the year (yay, me!)

Okay, for you guys this might not be a big deal.

But you weren’t in my shoes last Christmas season. I was just so incredibly miserable. I pushed procrastination to the limit and barely slept at all, rushing and making last-minute cards and wrapping gifts. I felt like one of Santa’s elves left all alone in the Workshop while the rest of my co-elves partied and drank their weight in eggnog.

So, here’s hoping this is a sign that it’s not gonna be as bad this year.

people christmas card

If you’re wondering how worth it it is to splurge on a Gauche Alchemy kit, let me put it this way. These scraps you see on this card (and the tons left in the original plastic it came in) are from the Politically-Correct December kit last year. I’ve been using up this kit all year and it’s like a bottomless pit that keeps on giving.

Unfortunately, this kit is no longer in stock. But, the good news is, well there’s tons of other stuff in the Gauche Alchemy Store to feast your eyes on and then splurge your money on. *grin*

Have you seen the Hot for Teacher Kit and, oh my goodness, those wallpaper kits are to die for! Or how about the Pitching a Tent Kit?  I want all of them!

*ahem*

So, anyway, here’s a little tutorial on how I made this:

1. Grab those Maya Road chipboard people you’ve been hogging and use them already. (*sigh* But yeah it took me forever to decide to use these too!) Grab some Gauche Alchemy goodness, aka vintage paper, dictionary pages, magazine ads, whatnot. Adhere chipboard to the paper with gel medium or adhesive of choice. Then cut off the extra paper with scissors and/or kraft knife.

2. Layer additional words/images on your existing layer. Spray with Tsukineko Walnut Ink. Or use some ol’-fashioned Tim Holtz Distress Ink. Either way works. Dab with tissue or paper towel to remove color. Edge with Staz On Black ink.

3. Grab white cardstock and fold into a card. Measure patterned paper (from the January 2009 kit. Sorry, no longer available too.), cut and adhere to card front.

4. Measure green cardstock and add as a “belt” to the front.

5. Adhere your gorgeous vintagey people in front.

6. Alter the Maya Road chipboard tag in the same way. Adhere and write “Merry Christmas” with American Crafts Slickwriter (just ‘coz the glossy paper might cause your writing to smear.)

7. Now you have several months to admire your work and get tired of looking at it before sending it off to someone whom you hope love it as much as you adored making it.

P.S. Here at Gauche Alchemy, our top priority is YOU, our loyal customers and readers. (Wait, having fun? No, it’s definitely you.)

So do drop a line, email us, add us up on Facebook, whatever, just let us know what cooks your goose. What would you like to see more of on the Gauche Alchemy Blog and in our newsletter? And we promise, there’ll be a newsletter coming out soon so please do sign up to join our mailing list.

*hugs*

6 Responses

  1. L-O-V-E this!!!
    You are smart to start early. I never seem to learn that lesson. don’t know why.
    BUT, maybe I will try to start now. maybe.

    OH, did I tell you? I told Maggi (you know and love her, she is the GUEST DESIGN TEAM MEMBER)
    I am having a PINK Christmas this year!!!
    I will LOVE making my pink Christmas very GAUCHE!
    I know I can do it!!

    You rock!! Keep making and showing us the cards!!

  2. Hey, Danielle! Wow, sounds like a very Gauche Christmas indeed. Hope you have tons of fun in organizing it. Good luck! =)

    *hugs*

  3. Nina – this card is soooo awesome. I love it more than I can say.

    Danielle – awesome xmas idea! I actually used to have an Xmas tree in my early 20’s (looong time ago! haha) that was entirely pink and cream ornaments AND baby’s breath tucked between the branches. OMG it was SO beautiful! The baby’s breath looked like snow. It was more Victorian than gauche, but hey – it’s all about old anyway, right?

  4. Love that card! A newsletter….could it get any better??

  5. That is what I meant Amy!! I will take any and all ideas on how to “gauche” it up a little!!
    The last thing I want is a pink pepto Christmas. LOL
    Your idea of baby’s breath sounds great! I always put flowers in my Christmas tree. Usually poinsettas. Very excellent idea Amy!!
    Thanks too Nina, I will need all the luck I can get!!

    HUGS

  6. Vicki –
    Could it get any better? Oh yes, yes it can! (evil laugh) I’ll let that stew a while. I’ve got some fun stuff planned for Halloween.

Leave a Reply

