Something a little different today

Today, I want to introduce you to my uncle, Kent Wing. Uncle Kent is an amazing artist – I wish I had access to more photos of his paintings, but here are a few.

In a recent e-mail conversation with him:

I have just mounted a show with a friend at one of the largest museums in the region this week, so it has kept me hopping this last several months in between the rest of life-stuff. I am an adjunct faculty at UVU teaching a couple of days a week with the rest of the time in my studio.

This artwork blows me away. Only recently has he started up a website – I stumbled across it when I went looking to show his work to Yasu.  Last time I went looking a year or so ago, there wasn’t anything to see (online, that is).  I’m so glad Kent now has a website – take a look at some of his artwork.

This piece, Identity, is featured on the cover of Alex Bigney’s Talking to Tesla: An Artist’s Dream Journal.  Here’s what Kent had to say about the book:

I’ve been very involved in the publishing of a book written by an artist friend that has had a profound effect on my life over the last 5 years.

kent identity

kent orphan and the madona's robe

I really enjoy looking at the rocks and the amazing golden color of the water and the sky.    I was looking for a portrait of Kent, but really, none needed.  He looks like the subjects of these paintings (well, not sure if he’s this ripped, but could be – he’s about to run his 30th marathon – you read right – THIRTY).

His work ranges from the ethereal…

kent at the still point

… to the realistic.

kent three pools

(This has GOT to be the three pools in Sedona – and yes, it really is this beautiful.  If you ever get a chance to go to Sedona, GO!)

… to still life (well, some of it is still…).

kent pears in landscape

Feedback?  I’m sure he’d love to hear what you think – you can contact him via his website.

All images copyright 2008 Kent Wing – not to be reproduced or used without permission.

8 Responses

  1. Incredible…..off to look at his site too!

  2. Oh my! Your uncle’s work is FABULOUS! WOW!

  3. wow. That is amazing. All of it. I have been looking at it for like 45 minutes now. I almost can’t believe they are paintings!! It looks like sculpture. Stunning!! Congratulations to him in all his endevors. He deserves all the praise he gets.

  4. he has a wonderful talent! completely stunning!!!!!

  5. wow… incredible work.. just beautiful.

  6. Wow, these are amazing!!!

  7. Mesmerizing! I can’t stop looking at them!

  8. Amazing amazing! I knew that you came from a creative lineage, but this is extraordinary! Thank you for posting this.

Leave a Reply

