Take time out to play…

… which is exactly what I did today. It was a stormy, windy day. The power went off.

I guess when technology is shut down and you have no other choice but to do something, that’s the perfect time to play.

play

I dug out this new children’s watercolor set I got the other day on a whim. I then dug out my alphabet stamps and some postal stamps and went ahead and played.

If you’ve ever read Julia Cameron’s “The Artist’s Way” (I highly recommend it!), you’ll know what it means to fill up the artist’s well. The concept is that we, as artists, are like wells. And we need to fill ourselves up with inspiration, take ourselves out on artist dates, get out and do something that refreshes us. Otherwise, we dry up, our mojo feels like it’s missing, and we beat ourselves up but can’t make anything.

So, take time to fill your artist’s well. And take time out to play.

4 Responses

  1. Going to have to check out that book. Got my creative juices flowing last night making some tags.

  2. Total inspiration – Thanks for the reminder 🙂

  3. Love that quote about the rain. I had to dive out of the house in a complete downpour today – got soaked but it was so worth it because on the way back the sun appeared and bought with it a double rainbow! So cool!

  4. That is awesome. I love the “well” concept!!

Leave a Reply

