Mixed Media Kit Madness

hi all!
wanted to share a mixed media project i just finished with you!
i used generous amounts of the Wedding Night White Mixed Media kit Wedding Night

and the Black Mixed Media kit
Black Mixed Media

It’s a present I made for my dad’s birthday ๐Ÿ™‚

for dad, mixed media

I started with a box that my new Magic Mouse was shipped in and gesso’d the heck outta it! Then i layered on a couple of different types of text and music and over that put one of my new favorite tools – wax paper with paint. The image over that is a drawing i drew of my dad, like, um, 20ish years ago (thank god my mom kept a scrapbook of her own!) and scanned it into my computer then printed it out and made a packing tape image transfer of it (tutorial to come one of these days).

dominos and hardware

Around the inside edges of the box i glued down different little pieces from the Gauche Alchemy mixed media kit elements and various pieces of hardware i collected. And i discovered the BEST adhesive i have used yet from the Gauche Alchemy store: Omni-Gel Transfer Medium!

hardware macro

I have yet to use it as a transfer agent, but as an adhesive it ROCKS!!!!! WOW it holds all that on upside down and stuff!

hardware macro

The background matte is made of my other favorite technique – duct tape and acrylic paint

duct tape and paint macro

He liked it ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Thanksgiving y’all!

6 Responses

  1. A ? for ya- Does the transfer gel/adhesive dry inside the container over a period of time? What a cool gift.

  2. joyce! that gel started coagulating in about 4-5 minutes and was dry enough for me to move the box without anything falling off in about 30 minutes!

  3. ooooh, coagulating in 4-5 minutes is good to know. I was asking about shelf life once you open it {I guess I should have worded it this way in the first place}. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Hey, Lara! What a very cool, personalized project! And what a sweet sentimental keepsake! =)

    Thanks for the inspo. Am thinking of personalized gifts this Christmas and this definitely gave me ideas. Thanks again! =)

    *hugs*

  5. oh, sorry joyce – don’t know about the shelf life after opened! i would hope if it’s kept capped it would last awhile! although, since its my new favorite adhesive it probably won’t last more than a couple of months in my house ๐Ÿ™‚ did i mention it dries completely clear too?!! yeah… this stuff rocks!

  6. […] And a project i recently made using this method (also showcased here) […]

Leave a Reply

