Wired tissue-paper leaves :: A tutorial from Julie

As my title suggests me [Julie] would now like to give you [lovely GA blog readers] a quick tutorial on how I made lots of wired tissue paper leaves to decorate my Christmas gift tags:


If you’re looking for a reto / vintage style festive project and you don’t mind getting your hands and surfaces a little bit sticky then give the following video a watch:

What do you reckon? Pretty simple really aren’t they? 

To form the body of my tags I cut up sheets of ‘Ouchless cardboard’ [available here in ready cut lengths].  Then, for the tags below I layered my wired tissue paper leaves on top of  elements  from my red and white ‘Candy Cane holiday mixed media color kit’ :

For the tags below I used some of the game chip pieces from my Candy Cane kit to form holly berries plus gems and a leaf from my ‘Funky Fa La La green and pink mixed media color kit’.  On the tag on the right I followed the same technique as I showed in my tutorial but used fabric instead of tissue paper – and it works equally well.  

If you’d like to see more examples of the tags I made using the techniques in my video – there’s some here on my blog in the next few days.

Until then, go hunt out some tissue, wire and card. Happy tagging !

Julie 🙂

4 Responses

  1. These are awesome!

  2. After watching the video twice I decided to use some altered waxpaper and trash bag twisties. I have six of them drying now, instead of gluing the stem in-between I am going to stitch it on after the leaves dry.

  3. Super-duper awesome, Julie! Such a wonderful finishing touch to a gift! =)

  4. Beautiful tutorial, Julie! Bravo! Love the music, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

