Speedy ‘no-sew’ ideas :: Julie

 Season’s greetings and happy holidays to you all!

I’ve scheduled this post today as, as much as I enjoy blogging,  I suspect I’ll be otherwise engaged!

At such a busy time of year I thought I’d share a few examples of super-speedy techniques which you can use to achieve interesting effects in those moments of crafting time you grab in between everything else! While the examples all feature beads, buttons and haberdashery trimmings … my alternative methodas meant I didn’t have to find the time and concentration to sit and sew each of them on. And, at this time of year, that leaves more time for eating, drinking and being merry!

Below is a paper-bag album I created this winter into which I incorporated a  boookmark. 

Onto a length of cotton cord I threaded buttons, beads and word-beads, [all from  the ‘Wedding Night’ white mixed media and paper crafts kit].  Here’s a close-up where you can see how I threaded the cord through both holes in the button – to prevent everything from sliding up and down:

Another item from the white kit was this length of haberdashery trimming which I had anticipated holding it in place with a few drops of glue before fixing it in place ‘properly’ by sewing it by hand.

That is, until I realised that my ‘go to’, highly useful, Hi-Tack: Fast Tack glue held it in place without requiring any additional help! Don’t you lov eit when you hit upon a near-perfect crafting resource like that?  It’s the same glue I’ve used to glue the lace onto the album pages in the 1st photo above and also to add details to my Skinny Santa blog project here.

Finally, a project you might remember from earlier on in the year:

Here, using items from the ‘Pink Parts’ Mixed Media Color Kit , I decorated the three bookrings from on of my mini-books.  It’s as simple as selecting your favourite beads, bits and goodies from the packet …and sliding them on. Very, very little effort was required on my behalf to create an intesting effect that people have often commented on. The best part about it is that, when you buy more kits, and uncover more plastic / vintage treasure, you can easily slide your new favourites onto the existing rings.

Currently, both the pink and the white kit is available to buy either on its own or as a part of two specially priced festive kits. The pink kit has been mixed with the green to form the Funky Fa La La kit and the red and white mingle together in the Candy Cane kit.  As a Christmas treat – the combined kits are on sale at a lower price than if you bought them separately. 

So, next time you get a minute to yourself [in between all the gift-giving, soppy-old-films-on-TV-watching and more-food-than-you’d-usually-eat-in-a-week eating] then see where the no-sew techniques take you.

Whatever you’re doing today / this week … have a great time.  See you soon.

Julie 🙂

3 Responses

  1. Yummy

  2. Waaaay keeewwwl!

  3. Beautiful, Julie! And definitely helpful since I’m not much of a sewer! Thanks for the tips and happy holidays! =)

    *hugs*
    Nina

Leave a Reply

