Acme Art Journal

Well, I’ve had this great little sketch book hanging around with all my other little journals and such– it seems that I can’t walk past a stationary or art supply store without purchasing some kind of paper product!  I loved the size of it, but it had just a plain brown cover.  I decided to pull out some odds and ends from an Acme kit, a couple of paper scraps and a button or two, and this is what I came up with!

I used the sewing machine to sort of haphazardly attach the vintage seam binding along the bottom of the journal.  Buttons were from my grandmother’s collection.  The image of the two girls is from a vintage children’s book, on which I melted some metallic crayons using my craft iron.

I have to say that I was quite gratified with this little project!  It’s amazing what you can do with a few bits and scraps.

UPDATE:  So sorry, I neglected to put in the link to our original tutorial on MELTED CRAYONS!  There is a great little video that gives all the juicy details…it’s so easy and creates such a nice effect!

9 Responses

  1. this is fantastic! AND we are on the same wavelength – i’m in the midst of doing the same thing! New year – new art journal!
    I’d love to see what you start putting inside of this one 😉

    AND hells ya – bits and scraps ROCK!
    I have so many organizational issues with bits and scraps, though. Any ideas or successes on this front?

  2. Awesome! Would love to hear more about the crayon melting!

  3. Oh, I love this!!! I really like how you created that scrunched up look with the lace, using your sewing machine.

    I’m so glad to have found this site, what a great resource!!
    Thanks so much for adding my link to your sidebar, I will be sure and add a link for this site on my links page.

  4. Maggi, I just posted an update to the blog post with a link to our original tutorial on the crayon technique! You can also view all our tutorials on the left sidebar. Thanks, and be sure to send us pics of what you make using the techniques! (: Happy melting!

  5. Love this. The black zig-zag stitching is a fantastic visual element.

    Off to check out the crayon melting tutorial~

  6. Oh, this is perfect!!
    Love the bottom with the buttons, and the blact image on the top left. The crayon melting i have done before, but mine never comes out so lovely! I will go check out the link!!!

  7. This is gorgeous! Thanks for sharing it with us! I’m so inspired!

  8. Heather, this is just gorgeous and amazing. Love the colors and textures! Happy New Year to you and your loved ones!

    *hugs*

  9. Thanks, Karen! We always enjoy some mutual link love! You have a fantastic site over there! – Amy

Leave a Reply

