painty alchemy

happy new year y’all!
i think i can still get away with saying that? It’s only a week into the new year?
lara here…

… just wanted to share something i rediscovered
… something very alchemistical actually.
i like to use gesso and acrylic paint in my work, and for awhile now i’ve been using scrap paper and art journal sheets as my palette.
well, sometimes doing this causes some great magical results!
and it’s a form of repurposing which is something we here at gauche alchemy are definitely all about!

Truth be told, sometimes i’ll start a project then really start to hate it, but instead of throwing it all away i rip off what i can reuse then just start using it as a palette for paint and stamps and pen ink. In fact pretty much EVERY single project i make now has some sort of mark that wasn’t there originally ๐Ÿ™‚

this weekend i was SHOCKED to see how well doing this turned out!

i originally did this approximately dec 2008 as there is a stamp amidst the paint i had tested and also as you can see there was some ribbon and bling on there i couldn’t salvage so i just kept it on and it eventually got covered up with paint in an oh so yummy way!

so, the moral of this little post is – NEVER throw anything away, AND if you use paint or even liquid adhesive, don’t be afraid to grab an old layout or blank journal page and use that to house your squirt, dabs and brush strokes!

and voila, something with a little depth, history and connection to a whole lot of other projects of past:

happy paletting!

6 Responses

  1. I love these type of projects! And I love how yours developed and ultimately ended up *smiles*

  2. Great advice, lara! This project turned out amazing, so many layers and textures. There’s hope for my first attempts at art journaling yet! ;o)

  3. Love using gesso and acrylic. but I throw everything away, like an idiot.

    this is a totally fab idea! and how awesome that you kept it, and reused it.

    FABULOUS!!

  4. I’m not a terribly experienced art journalist, but the appealing part is that you don’t have to be. The whole idea is you can’t get it wrong. Right? ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, of the few pages I’ve made, I definitely like starting the next page by using it as a palatte for a previous one. Mine doesn’t have the depth yours does, tho… not old enough, I guess! I also like to save the baby wipes I use to clean my stamps and wipe up spills of ink/paint/whatnot. Those can be fun once they dry.

    I was working on a page once and spilled a string of saucy spaghetti on it. I just left it there. Ended up taking it off later – didn’t like the asthetic – but how much fun to incorporate a bit of my dinner…

  5. omg amy – lol – maybe i should start using my art journal pages as placemats! you’ve sparked some inspiration girl!!!!!

  6. I know, huh? Perfect for us messy eaters! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

