Paperbag album: a tutorial

I joined A Year in the Life of an Art Journal challenges this year and I needed some sort of mini-book/album for my pages.

I had gathered quite a collection of paperbags which were gathering dust. Finally, I almost threw them out one night when I hit upon the idea of making them into a mini-book. And here’s the result:

I removed all their ribbon/paper handles and started with this small one that would be the size of all my pages.

I cut up two sides and left the top as is, saving one side to be the spine. Then I punched holes for my ring binders to go through. To strengthen the spine, I adhered electrical tape I got from the hardware store.

I randomly cut up all the other paperbags until I had 25 pages, 24 for the challenges and 1 for my inside cover. I eyeletted the holes I made on the pages so that they don’t tear. Some of the eyelets fell off, but then I figure, I’ll eyelet them again later once I’m working on them, if needed.

This last one is my favorite paperbag ever. It comes from a local store called Gingersnaps, which is just the most gorgeous store for children’s and maternity clothes. I cut it up and adhered it as my cover. It also gives extra durability to the front and back covers as well. I added American Crafts Thickers, a postage stamp and adhered my dominoes with Inkssentials Glossy Accents.

Thanks for reading all that and hope that you take some time to make art to commemorate the year.

*hugs*

Nina

8 Responses

  1. This is so cool! I love how you did the spine. I’m going to try and participate with the year art journal as well. Good luck to you!

  2. Two deadlines down and decided to make some journal books today as a ‘time out’ while still doing some stuff around the house. Already had the covers done on another one when I came to visit and decided to go get 3 bags from Chritmas 2008. I used a Nordstrom bag for the covers, it is 8×10 with a 4 inch binding area…taking a break for lunch. Happy happies.

  3. ACK!! Im doing the Year in the life of an Art Journal Too!!
    Isnt it fun?

    LOVE your fab journal!!

  4. LOVE this idea! I had made albums with brown paper bags but this is a fantastic idea! I have been saving used gift bags for reuse but haven’t so I might try this.
    :0)
    Peggy

  5. Maybe I need to head over there and join in… is it too late? I want to concentrate on art journaling, mail art, and perhaps some book binding this year. But I haven’t sat down in my studio yet in 2010! erk.

    Nina, this looks fantastic! And the best part is that you have little pockets to put things as you go through the year. That’s so much FUN!

    Know what I do with my extra cool paper bags? Put ’em in kits! 😀

  6. Amy, It’s not tooooo late-tomorrow starts the second prompt so you can still get the other one done and not feel behind. Yay on the bags in kits.

  7. totally amy – last year i didn’t start until late feb – you just catch up when you can.

    totally love this bag thing. i’ve been collecting all sorts of envelopes – might use the same sort of binding! that looks so fab!

  8. Thanks for checking this out, ladies. =)

    Joyce, you are just awesome and so fast in making stuff! So jealous. =) It took me forever just to actually get off my butt and make this. lol.

    Amy, yup, join us. =)

Leave a Reply

