DIY ring

My favorite cheapo giant fake rock ring broke. As I was mourning it, I realized I could finally make that domino ring I’ve been dying to make.

Materials:

Love, Elsie rub-ons and dressmakers pattern tissue paper (packaging) from the Lush Kit; vintage music sheet and magazine ad, K&Co metal button from old Gauche Alchemy kits; plastic domino; adjustable ring; Inkssentials Glossy Accents; Gel (you can also use gel medium or Mod Podge).

Use gel, gel medium or Mod Podge to apply dressmakers pattern tissue paper on the backside (the smooth side) of the domino. It’s okay if the tissue paper is not the exact size of the domino. It’s so easy to fold it over the edges. Make sure to apply a layer of your chosen medium on top of the tissue paper to protect it. Let dry.

Apply vintage music sheet on the tissue paper. Apply a layer of your chosen medium on top also. Let dry.

Apply vintage image from magazine ad. Apply chosen medium on top. Let dry. Apply letter rub-on.

Use Inkssentials Glossy Accents to apply metal button. Let dry.

Completely cover the surface of the domino with Inkssentials Glossy Accents. Remove any air bubbles while wet. Let dry. This’ll take a couple of hours so go ahead and do your chores, have lunch, etc.

Use Inkssentials Glossy Accents to attach the metal ring. Make sure that your surface is dry before turning your ring over. This is a cheat. This is a photo of the back side of the ring when it was already dry. The ring might fall down while the Glossy Accents is still wet. So, after letting it dry a bit, but while it’s still malleable, position your metal ring. Let dry.

Enjoy your creation!

*hugs*

Nina

15 Responses

  1. This is the coolest project ever and I’ve never seen anything like it.

    Way to knock it out of the park, Nina.

    I can’t wait to try this.

  2. Aww, thanks, Nicole! =) Have fun!

  3. Nina!

  4. Nina – you are a goddess!
    WOW!

  5. wow, that glossy coating is knocking my socks off. is it like a resin? it’s so thick and cool WHERE do you get it?

  6. wow, that glossy coating is knocking my socks off. is it like a resin? it’s so thick and cool WHERE do you get it? I’d love to try it myself.

  7. Hiya, everyone! Thanks so much for checking this out. Hope you get to try it. =)

    Elizabeth, the glossy coating is the Inkssentials Glossy Accents. That’s how cool it looks when it’s dry. =)

    *hugs*

  8. awesome. now, I want tons of glossy accents to make this.

  9. way cool.
    thank you nina!
    i wanna try this. and asap.

  10. This ring is wonderfully outrageous!!! TFS

  11. I’m addicted to Glossy Accents after only just discovering it late last year – how did I survive so long without it? I know not!

    This ring is amazing! Just love it1

  12. This is really so cool!!!! I am not big on jewelry however this is something I would be proud to make and wear, and better yet, to make and give as gifts!!!! Thanks so so so much for the tutorial.

    P.S. It would be great if you could consider adding to your amazing list of challenge blogs the “Bad Girls Project 52” challenge blog at http://wendyrago.typepad.com/project52

    A new team started posting every 2nd and 4th Monday this past fall a mixed media challenge for anyone to join in. We are having a lot of fun and would be quite honored to be added to your list. I am going to add your blog to my google reader right now too!
    xoxo,
    julie ann

  13. We sure will! Thanks for letting us know. 🙂

  14. I have to say, Nina, that I saw some mini-domino necklaces last weekend in a local shop – and they don’t hold a candle to your creation! They are charging $10 for them there – the shop sells consignment – ship over some rings and I’ll try to turn them into cash for ya! 😉

  15. Well, here’s ONE place you can get Glossy Accents, Elizabeth! http://www.artfire.com/modules.php?name=Shop&op=listing&product_id=421888 *wink*

Leave a Reply

