Scrapping serendipity

Hi you. Julie here, I thought I’d kick off the Gauche blogging week with a layout and a spot of pseudo-scrapping-philosophy.  Feel free to take one without the other!

Sometimes I scrap important occasions like birthdays, Christmas, anniversaries etc.

Sometimes I scrap less formal  things such as self-portraits, conversations and the ‘everyday’ ….

… and sometimes I scrap those things which belong to the ‘miscellaneous’ category. The odd, the unusual, the not-so-everyday.

Adj. 1. serendipitous – lucky in making unexpected and fortunate discoveries

 [Page includes paper, fabric + diary sheet from the ‘Career Girl’ kit]

One day last year, while I was talking to my partner, I just happened to look up and see a small, orangey-red leaf sticking to the first floor window of my craft room.  It wasn’t wet or especially windy outside, but there it was, clinging to the glass, back-lit beautifully by the low winter sun. I reached for my camera [I’m a scrapper – a camera is never more than an arm’s length away – ‘just in case’!!] and just hoped that the leaf would stay in place long enough for me to focus on it and capture the moment. And so it did.

Sometimes, when things like that happen a small voice in the back of my head wonders whether it’s a ‘sign’. A portent.  A message from someone or something out there.  Although chances are it was more likely a mundane combination of damp leaf and dirty window! 

However, it’s tiny-yet-unusual moments like these that have the capacity to lift us out of our ordinary, everyday, auto-pilot mode.  They can make us stop, think  and scrabble about frantically for a camera! Most of all, they make us smile and give us something to talk about and share with one another …. like we’re doing right now.

Here’s to you serendipity! I’ll be watching out for you [and so will my camera lens].

Julie 🙂

8 Responses

  1. Julie, I just love little moments like these. They make the everyday somehow more tolerable and even magical. =)

    Beautiful layout! =)

  2. That leaf looks so cute, stuck there, gazing longingly into your craft room.. I love how you captured the moment. The career girl kit looks fabulous – your LO really shows it off beautifully!

  3. how lovely to capture that moment! those are the moments when it’s all worth it.

  4. These are some of my favorite creative moments! 😀 Beautiful layout!

  5. Oh big, BIG believer in signs here. What a truly beautiful moment to capture and totally gorgeous page to remember it by.

  6. I definitley believe in signs – Lovely LO – tfs!

  7. I love when that happens!! I try to see “signs” in everything. I am always searching for signs.

    Love the layout!

  8. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all of us you actually know what you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked. Please additionally visit my website =). We can have a link trade arrangement among us

Leave a Reply

