In celebration of National Craft Month…

*images from http://blog.craftzine.com

… why not indulge your inner child? Here’s a list of things to try out HERE. Or why not try your hand at crocheting a vintage-inspired ribbon bag HERE?

Some people I know are developing their creative pursuits in photography and knitting. While some of the most amazing women right here in Gauche Alchemy are continuing to amaze us with wonderful works of art.

One of the creative forces who have so generously shared themselves with us is the amazing Sherry Goodloe of Got Art? (Blog and Etsy Shop).

She created this very special piece of artwork and is offering it as THE MOST AMAZING GIVEAWAY RIGHT HERE in the Gauche Alchemy blog. (Aren’t we lucky?)

Without further ado, here is Sherry’s beautiful creation:

Shabby Chic Thorns Have Roses Featuring a Little Girl on 10 x 10 Gallery Wrapped Canvas Vintage Flower and Battenburg Lace by Sherry Goodloe

Sherry Goodloe describes her creative process with this piece:

“Using the top layer of a vintage greeting card of a little red headed girl holding a butterfly with the quote “Don’t grumble that Roses have Thorns be thankful that Thorns have Roses” at the top, I have created a mixed media piece on a  10″ x 10″ finished gallery-wrapped canvas.

“I used a mixture of molding paste and various acrylic paints to create a soft pink color for this piece as well as a stenciled leaf and stem design for additional dimension.  
“Vintage Battenburg lace has been added in addition to the vintage flower satin and lace flower. A sheer ribbon tied into a bow with a 3-ringed, 6-strand piece of light pink pearls cascade down from the center of the bow.”
* Nice addition to a shabby chic decor or any spot for a feminine touch. 
* Please note that this is not a child-friendly piece of artwork due to the small parts that have been attached.

Would you like to own this gorgeous piece of art to hang in your very own home or studio? Of course you do!

Now, all you have to do is leave a comment on this post letting us know the different crafts that you love, the ones you always wanted to try, and what you’re doing to celebrate National Craft Month.

Giveaway ends on the last day of the month, March 31st.

P.S. If that’s not enough, Sherry is also doing another gorgeous giveaway on her blog. Check it out HERE.

Thank you so very much, Sherry. It truly is an honor to be able to share with our readers this awesome creation!

24 Responses

  1. I was flattered to be asked to participate 🙂 Thank YOU!

  2. Thi is absolute gorgeous Sherry!!! Thanks so much for the opportunity to win it. The different crafts that I love include scrapbooking, rubber stamping, making cards, and making ATCs. I have always wanted to try making flower arrangments, and edible food arrangements out of fruit. To celebrate National Craft month, I am participating in challenges, making scrapbook layouts and cards, and will be going ot a crop to work on ATCs.

  3. What the what?! I would L-O-V-E to own this beautiful piece, wowzers! Vintage crochet is one of my favorite things along with gluing down everything in site. 😀 I will be celebrating National Craft Month by making sure that I spend every day covered in glue and glitter. Best month ever! 😀

  4. Gorgeous! Anything Sherry makes is just beautiful! I’d love to be in the running for this prize! I’m a collage artist, a painter, an experimenter of anything I can get my hands on. I love art.
    http://www.collagecontessa.blogspot.com

  5. Wow!! Beautiful!! Great artwork and craftsmanship!
    I am a mother, artist, child of God. Battling cancer and keeping it together for my kids. I refuse to be a victim or a survivor. I am a WARRIOR and I’m fighting the good fight!!
    Been having less energy to create, but that has led to my finding a wonderful community of artists online, which has been very inspiring!

  6. I love almost all crafts. Love altered books & items. I scrapbook and stamp. LOVE sewing!! I have done some crochet and embroidery. I have a ton of vintage sewing patterns and crochet and knit magazine, but seldom use them….perhaps I will this month! By the way that is a beautiful work of art!

  7. That is beautiful! What a wonderful gift for some lucky winner.

  8. That is beautiful! I love collage, art journaling, scrapbooking and card-making. I would love to learn how to knit. Thanks for the terrific give-away.
    Rinda

  9. This is so beautiful. I love the quote on the picture.

    I love anything papercrafty ~ scrapbooking, journalling, Atc’s, altering, covering poor innocent duckies in various things from around the home 😀 I’m just learning some jewellery making and starting (very feebly) to learn crochet and sewing. Just broke my first sewing machine needle! Whoop! I also have a sack full of poodle fur kindly donated to me by a batty lady on Freecycle so am currently researching how to felt that *g* It’s very soft but very stinky pre-processing and OH isn’t appreciating my storing it at his work unit! *g*

  10. Maggi{gluing everything down insight}!

    Pretty much anything with paper and things I can either sew or glue down or use as a stamp or alter. Have been using my Moms crochet hooks- just start to crochet and whatever happens happens( ^__^ ), atc’s, etc. Just added mail art in the form of postcard to the list.
    Have been thinking about the wanting to try and the only thing that comes to mind is oragami{spelling?},I have a kit floating around here somewhere and lets just say that even though the directions are in english- they make no sense. Iris folding that will not cost an arm and a leg. Maybe more info. on Alcohol Inks-duh! Tim Holtz has a blog.
    I forgot that this is National Craft month! I guess I will be up to my elbows and beyond in gesso and whatnot…hopefully I will not get Krazy Glue in places that are extremely not amused. Continue to do as many challenges as I can, etc.
    P.S.
    shhh, it’s my BD today! A Lady at church gave me a gift on Sunday and she was telling me that she knew I’d end up ‘scrapping’ everything so she took extra care in what she put into the wrapping…have already got a piece of paper drying using some of the tissue paper.
    Happy happies everybody.

  11. I forgot! I saw what Carmen said about felting and that is something I want to do.

  12. […] first blog giveaway for National Craft Month is HERE. Make sure to post those comments before March […]

  13. I love scrapbooking, watercolors and paper making. I would like to learn during craft month-knitting, sewing and paper mache
    http://www.fleisherfamilyfun.blospot.com

  14. I swore I already left a comment!! WTF?

    What a generous give away!! Sherri, your art is beautiful!!

  15. […] haven’t posted a comment to get a chance to win Sherry Goodloe’s amazing piece of art HERE, you bet you’re missing out on a chance of a […]

  16. This is gorgeous and breath taking..

  17. I love doll costuming, miniature making, altered art, ATCs, and collages. I’m even trying my hand at journaling and am going to try and make my first journal soon.

    Smiles~
    Marilyn
    mcgoo4(at)gmail.com
    http://www.DollsEtc.blogspot (stop by and sign up for my giveaway!)

  18. […] you are just joining us, go here and here to enter some smokin’ giveaways in honor of National Craft Month (hey, shouldn’t that […]

  19. Fear not, Danielle – sometimes stuff inadvertantly gets labeled spam by the wordpress gods… I’ll go check!

  20. I’m a little slow on the uptake, but HAPPY BIRTHDAY, JOYCE!!!!

  21. That is completely hysterical, Carmen! Kind of ewwww, totally gauche!

  22. Kathleen – just discovered your comment here (I get behind sometimes!)… hugs and many good vibes going your way! Hang in there, and keep us updated. Welcome to our community!

  23. No, no, thank YOU! 😀

  24. I love making cards, scrapbooking, jewelry making and a few others. I think making glass beads looks neat.

    National Craft Month – mainly just trying to get at least SOME crafting done this month.

Leave a Reply

