Scrapbooking on the Map

lara here… One thing I’ve really gotten out of this Gauche Alchemy project/blog/artfire store is looking at using things in different ways. The new Wholey Sheets Kit is particularly inspiring to me as I’ve become really enamoured with tearing things apart and putting them back together and it’s really opened my eyes to all the different types of “sheets” in our worlds to do this to.

Couple this inspiration with the latest most fortuitous Challenge Prompt over at guttergirlz.blogspot.com, I’ve found a new use for maps, something most of us probably have crumpled up somewhere in the closet or car (or maybe you’re one of those who can get the thing folded back all nice when you’re done, but like newspapers, i am folding challenged)

THE PROMPT: Road Trip
THE PRODUCT/TECHNIQUE: A Map

My take:
I saw Muse, um pretty much my favorite band of the last decade, a couple of weeks ago and all of these memories of the trip I call “Muse Odyssey” came flooding back. (for a looooonggggg blogged memory of that, i posted this several years ago at my blog Muse Recap)

In the lefthand corner are lyrics from a favorite Muse song, Invincible, that are a packing tape transfer.

The background is two maps I cut up and then pieced back together with tape to form a 12×12 paper.
There’s a couple of layers of map because i kept trying stuff i didn’t like and then pasting more map pieces over what i didn’t like – kind of like a Ctl-Z key – which being a graphic designer on a computer by day I abuse and when doing paper crafts I always have to find creative ways to simulate that command. I digress…

To pull the background together a little more (some voices in my head think a little too much) I used Punchinella, also from out Artifire shop, to stencil stars and circles with ink. Throw in a couple of scraps of sheet music and we have a background.

In the corner to frame the photo I used some more bits and scraps – cut a small piece from the punchinella i used as stencil, and bits from the Wholey Sheets Kit: plastic canvas and screen. The key I actually found just that morning on the ground when i was walking the dogs (some of you must think i live in a garbage dump with all the things i find, nah, i just always am looking down and get lucky).

Put it all together and this is what I got:


Moral of the story – never throw anything away – kidding – but never throw bits and pieces that are over an inch away.

11 Responses

  1. lara, this piece is stunning! A layering queen, you are! Thanks for always inspiring me to see pieces of “trash” as treasures!

  2. This is gorgeous, I really have to try that cutting up and piecing back together technique.

  3. Talk about a SMACKDOWN of a layout. This one is “gauche” darn brilliant!!!

  4. teehee you guys always make my day:)
    GAUCHE DARN!

  5. like that idea!!!

  6. Absolutely S-T-U-N-N-I-N-G. I know I say that about everything you create but seriously, that background and the way you built it is fantastic! 😀

  7. This is outstanding! I love the background work! 🙂

  8. That is a delish piece!! I cant stop looking at it’s awesomeness!!

  9. A grin from ear to ear.

  10. I love it. I have included maps on layouts before…but not like this.

  11. Fooooking awesome!!! I’m a huge Muser too, so I was looking for some Muse creations to inspire me whilst I’m pimpin’ my diary. Thanks for inspiring me! 😉
    btw, I couldn’t read everything the letter was saying, but is it saying you actually TALKED with Matt?? o.0

Leave a Reply

