Will You Lend a Hand?

by Nicole Maki

I met Juliann last week during the Craft Social Tweet-Up on Twitter (do you follow Gauche Alchemy at Twitter? You should). She suffers with more chronic illnesses than anyone I’ve ever known. In her own words,

But it’s enough to know that I am in pain every minute and that I struggle with fatigue and mental health problems constantly. Crafting is my way to try to deal with all of this.

As a person who has been through, and is presently traversing, health problems; her situation really touched my heart.

When reading Juliann’s blog, I came across a request. And in that request, a way that I could do something to let her know that I’m there for her. That people care.

Can you give me a hand?

I mean that literally! I’m asking you and anyone, everyone, young and old to send me a cutout of a hand, decorated any way you please and made from whatever materials suit your fancy.  I’ll use these hands to cheer myself on by affixing them to the bare walls in my room and also sending hands to anyone else who seems to need one. Please write your name or nick on the back so I/we will know who is lending their hand to this project :) (And if you send other contact details I will write you a thank-you note eventually!)

My answer is Yes! Yes, Juliann. I can give you a hand. And I hope it is something to cheer you and remind you that help is out there. If any of you want to give Juliann a hand too, please send your hand to:

The Sick Chick
P.O. Box 904
Cary, NC 27512-0904
Here is the hand I made using paper from Career Girl Mixed Media kit ,cards from the Acme Mixed Media Kit , punchinella as a stencil and lots and lots of Scarlet Fever.
8 Responses

  1. What a lovely project! Yours turned out wonderful, I’ll have to see what I can do! 😀

  2. What a lovely idea, I also will get one done and send it to her 🙂 Thank you Nicole.

  3. Me too.. that’s a fab idea.. and your hand looks brilliant, Nicole!

  4. This is a great project. I too suffer from chronic illness and I also use my crafty goodness to uplift my spirits. I try to create as much as possible my hands, my body and fatigue dont always cooperate.

  5. we should all send left hands…in french gauche means left hand.

  6. Everyone needs a helping hand once in awhile. I also have more than one chronic illness, I find a lot of artists that I know do, its a great way to find enjoyment even when you don’t feel like doing much else. I would love to send a hand.

  7. Joyce! That’s funny! haha…
    I will definitely have to do this one… I’m getting into mail art big time, anyway. Fun project.

    It’s so strange that so many of us have chronic ills. I’m with the rest of you – ADD, mood problems, and chronic fatigue of varying degrees since I was a teen… ick. Maybe it’s carried on the same genes that code for “kick-ass artist.” 🙂

  8. snort Amy. I think they’ve gotta be the same gene hahaha

Leave a Reply

