I’m Inspired! (To Make An Announcement)

Wowowowowow hi everyone!  😀  Maggi here and boy do I have some inspiration for you!  I also have a fabulous fantastic super fun time type announcement at the end of this post so let’s jump right in, friends!

Part of today’s inspiration post was on my personal blog Just Add Glitter and Stir last year but I just had to revisit the subject and share it with all of you! 😀

Inspiration is everywhere, is it not?  For those that create, whether it’s writing, painting, scrapbooking, crocheting or gluing something onto something else (as I like to say), everything we make comes from an inspiration in the mind that our fingers can’t help but make real. A person, place or thing can spark our imaginations and off we go to bring what is in our heads to life. A seemingly small occurrence can give birth to an artistic inspiration that becomes your masterpiece.

Speaking of which, did you know that “Artistic Inspiration” has its own entry in Wikipedia?

“Inspiration refers to an unconscious burst of creativity in an literary, musical, or other artistic endeavor. Literally, the word means “breathed upon,” and it has its origins in both Hellenism and Hebraism.” -Wikipedia

I’m always fascinated to learn what inspires people, particularly creative people. There’s the usual answer of “family, friends” yada yada yada. But what really lights that spark of creative activity? The spark where you know that if you don’t get it down (paint it, draw it, write it, scrap it, sew it, glue it, whatever it), you’ll explode?

One of the things that I am continually inspired by is Japanese street fashion.

“The term ‘street fashion’ is used to describe fashion where the wearer personally customizes the outfits by adopting a mixture of current and traditional trends.” -Wikipedia

Japanese street fashion is a treasure trove of inspiration all its own. Such a bold out-of-the-box mix of styles, colors, textiles, eras – you name it. How can you not be inspired by such a grand example of creative abandon?

The amazing site, Tokyo Fashion has a group of stellar photographers that go out into the streets of Japan and take pictures of people they find with a fantastic, sometimes quirky and always inspiring sense of fashion. They have graciously given me permission to show some of their pictures here for you to be inspired by so make sure to visit their site or better yet, follow them on Twitter for up to date sightings of the latest street trends! (Thanks Tokyo Fashion!)

Now, I don’t want you to sit there thinking, “Oh, I could never wear that!”  Don’t even think of it as clothes. Look at the colors, the shapes, the layering…what does it inspire you to create?

Okay, this one I just want to wear. 😀

And that’s what is inspiring me at the moment! 🙂 Thanks again to Tokyo Fashion for use of their amazing pictures.

So, what is inspiring you? Do share with the whole class!

And now for a very fun announcement…

You know, having the Gauche Alchemy store is awesome. Having this blog is great too, after all we love meeting with all of you and discussing what’s going on in the world of awesome creative what have yous. But is it enough?

We here at Gauche Alchemy say NO!  We need more! More ways to hang out with you, more ways to tell you about the latest Gauche Alchemy wheelings and dealings, more more MORE! So to that end, we’ve created a place just for YOU to come and be Gauche along with us.

*gasp* Could it be true?!

Yes, that’s right…please to enjoy…

The Gauche Alchemy Ning Network is open and ready for you! Come and hang out with the entire GA team! We have places to chat, to learn and to just be Gauche (that’s our favorite part 🙂 ).

So what are you waiting for?! Come join the Gauche Alchemy Ning Network today!!!  See you there! 😀

10 Responses

  1. These are JUST AWESOME Maggi!!! I loveeeeeeeeeeeeee these photos for inspo….just makes me want to create with COLORS and layers!! GREAT POST! :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

  2. Wow Maggi…these pics are awesome…I would wear them all!!!! What great inspiration!!!! Love ya girlie!!!

  3. Ack! Boy would I love to visit Japan…

    Super excited for this Ning Thing, Maggi!

  4. I have three emails and they all belong to nings…hence I am sitting here multi-tasking with my hands on hips stamping my toes and I have gauche steam coming out my ears!!!

  5. The first one has me thinking I could turn my new cob-web stamp into an unbrella and use some of my black funky yarn stuff and black beads to go with it. The woven bag has me thinking of braiding some plastic grocery bags into something. that’s it for now on the first pic.

  6. I love the last picture with the green skirt. I would totally wear that outfit myself. The other pics are fantastic…I love the colours and the layering of the outfits. When I see pictures like this, it makes me want to hop on a plane and go to Japan 🙂

  7. You know me 😉 And you know who and want inspires me Maggi 😛 But I’ll share too – Alice Cooper, rubber duckies, old movies, fantasy movies, music… Jace Everett at the mo! Yum, just want to get all naughty with my cd player when he is on… *ahem* Programs like Project Runway, Charlie and Lola… stuff like that 😀

  8. Oh and Tim Burton – can’t not mention him eh?

  9. You go girl!!!! i love these outfits!!!!! You have written a great post and you are going to do a fantastic job!

Leave a Reply

