angela is such a geek!

Angela Here!

Before I get into my fun & fabulous product review, I’d like to invite each of you to take a gander at the PaperLife blog, where I was this week’s Spotlight!  There’s a podcast which can be listened to right on the PaperLife page (my geeky little heart is all aflutter!)  Ok, so that may sound like I’m REALLLLY full of myself, but that’s truly not the reason I want you to go check it out.  Gauche Alchemy has generously donated a huge CUSTOM ACME Sampler kit, and you can win it by simply leaving a comment to the Spotlight post!  I promise… you’ll want to get your hot little hands on this kit, so don’t dilly dally.  I’ll wait here while you go check it out!  🙂

Link to PaperLife spotlight post

Back so soon?  Did you leave a comment so you can be entered to win the kit?  Excellent!  Now, on with our regularly scheduled programming.  🙂

It’s sad, but true. Before you even get inside my front door, you immediately know you have arrived at the House of Geek. There isn’t a square foot of our home that isn’t the resting place for some sort of computer equipment or electronic gadget.

Even our cats are geeky. Our Oriental named Ambrose loves to watch TV (COPS is his favorite show!) He is so in love with television that we keep a spot on the shelf beneath it cleared off just for him. The other day, as my son sat playing his PS3, Ambrose hopped into his favorite cubby amongst all the TV equipment, and I took the opportunity to snap a shot.

When I received the Geekery kit from Gauche Alchemy, I reached for this photo right away. I knew exactly how I wanted to immortalize our nerdy, furry friend. The Geekery kit includes everything you need to make multiple projects showcasing your favorite nerds, geeks, and gadget nuts. This kit is also PERFECT for little boys (and not-so-little boys) who love their toys. With tons of papers, including vintage graph, ledger, and technical booklet pages, you’ll have what you need to get your pages and mixed media projects started. My personal favorites were the retro comic book pages! Be sure to read on to see what I did with these!

Chock full of fun and funky embellishments, the Geekery kit provides you with ample treekets (geeky trinkets) to keep you busy for hours. The mix of vintage and retro, along with new products from Cosmo Cricket, K&Co, and Karen Foster, is spot on!

For this layout, I began with a sheet of kraft paper from the Gauche Alchemy Wholey Sheet kit as the base, then sprayed the funky background using Glimmer Mist and a template from Crafter’s Workshop.

The photo mat is actually a trimmed graph from a technical page included in the Geekery kit. For the title, I cut the words “house” and “nerds” from a vintage Spiderman comic book cover included in the Geekery kit, using my Cricut machine and the Opposites Attract cartridge. The black chipboard robot, gears, and circles are all included with the Geekery kit. The alpha stickers are from Paper Trunk and My Little Shoebox. Oh, and white Gesso on the black chipboard for effect! The thing I truly love about all the Gauche Alchemy kits is how perfectly they work with literally ANY supplies I already have on hand. I have yet to find a project that I cannot use a Gauche goodie on!

This page was super easy to create and put together, thanks to the well thought-out Geekery kit. I had this layout done, start-to-finish, in less than 45 minutes. So head over to the Gauche Alchemy ArtFire store, grab a Geekery kit for yourself, and embrace your inner pocket protector! And don’t forget to share your work with the class – we’d LOVE to see what you create!

4 Responses

  1. I listeneded to WHOLE podcast. I decided to be a good gaucheite and not comment on the off chance I won the kit…somebody else NEEDS to have happy mail in the form of GA. Had fun listennnning to you Angela. Happy happies.

  2. LOVE the page!!

  3. What a totally fun layout Angela!

    And congrats on your first podcast! 🙂

  4. […] Thursday’s Post: Angela Is Such a Geek! […]

Leave a Reply

