Inspiration Is My Favorite and My Best

Happy Thursday everyone! ๐Ÿ˜€

Maggi here and today we’re talking about how inspiration is everywhere! Artists and crafters alike can be inspired by everything from people to places to things, vegetable, mineral, whatever – inspiration is truly everywhere!

I think for people that work in mixed media especially, you find that their sources of inspiration are almost limitless. I save bits of mail, receipts, matchbooks, napkins, bottles, packaging, etc – all of those things I once threw away are now safe within my stash of creative who-knows-what it will be one day. ๐Ÿ˜€

Once Toot (my now one year old daughter) was born, I started to flip through various TV programs to try and decide what would and wouldn’t make an appearance in our house. One day I came across Charlie and Lola and was immediately smitten. As someone that creates and someone that acts half her age most of the time, all sides of me were delighted with this super happy fun program with it’s completely enchanting mixed media viewpoint.

From the “hand drawn” look of the characters to the real life pictures of food, fabrics and papers used with the illustrations, the look of Charlie and Lola is a mixed media creator’s dream come true. On top of the fabulously creative look, the imaginations of Charlie and his little sister Lola set out to remind us that everything can be an adventure and that in itself I find extremely inspiring.

I think sometimes when we allow ourselves to go back to that childlike imaginative place, we find a pool of inspiration we forgot we had inside ourselves all along.ย  So let’s try it:ย  when next you create, don’t worry about staying the lines,ย  making it even or creating the perfect whatever – go ahead and give yourself permission to revel in the creative freedom of freely creating.ย  Take a deep breath and just go for it!

Now, go glue something awesome on to some awesome something! ๐Ÿ˜€

What is inspiring you this week?

9 Responses

  1. Oh eeeeeeeeeeeeek! I love, love, love this post Maggi! And Charlie and Lola (and Lauren Child) are one of my favourite and best things in the whole wide world!!

    What’s inspiring me this week is all the gorgeous blossoms that seem to have erupted everywhere all of a sudden ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. This is such an awesome post Maggi! You’re right, there is so much eye candy in Charlie and Lola’s image, besides the great message!! You have me looking at things in a whole new way now!

    Thank you for that!

    So what is inspiring me this week??

    Maggi!
    xOxO

  3. I’m glad I’m not the only one who saves packaging, et al. –I keep it in a box marked “Alterables” for just those days when I bright idea strikes ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I soooooooooooooooooooooo love love love love that show!!!! GREAT INSPO! :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

  5. Ahhhhh!!! I love Charlie and Lola!!!!!

  6. I’ve never seen Charlie and Lola before this…they are cute! I’ve always saved stuff since I was a kid. ..I like to incorporate cutesy stuff on my projects…I’m still a kid at heart! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. My dd used to love that show because of the pink milk. LOL

  8. Maggi!!
    I just told small he has to watch that every day from now on!!! of course he is 10, soon to be 11 and he said no. SO, I will have to sneak and watch it when large and small are at school!!

    I WISH, for real, that my boys had such a great show!! large loved barney, (sorry, I threw up in my mouth), and there wasn’t a ton of baby cartoons 13 years ago. small watched…..wait for it…..loved it……TELLETUBBIES. I know. i hang my head in shame.

    BUT, I hope to redeem their baby-hood, by watching this!!! Toot is so lucky to have such a fabo mom!!

  9. My 2 girls love this show and so do I!! its shown infrequently on the free to air channels here in Australia and is fantastic…..you are right about it being super for mixed media ideas ๐Ÿ˜€ Top idea there!!
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

