Distressed with Angela

Angela Here!
I {heart} old stuff. Vintage, retro, antique… it all spells L-O-V-E to me! Even when I purchase something new, I have a tendency to turn around and make it look old. One of the most frequent questions I am asked is what tools, products and techniques I use to give my scrapbook papers and paper elements an antique look. Everyone automatically assumes that since the outcome is so dramatic, it must take forever to create. But that is just not so! With a few key ingredients and a couple of minutes you will have a vintage paper element fit for any scrapbook page, card, or altered art project.

There are the ingredients that I used to create the antiqued book page that I used on my final scrapbook layout project. These ingredients are extremely budget friendly, as every one of them can be used again and again to create dozens, maybe even hundreds of projects.

Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist – Sand and Coffee Shop
Tim Holtz Distress Ink – Antique Linen
Colorbox Cats Eye chalk ink – Chestnut Roan
Heidi Swapp Distress Tool

The children’s book page that I began with came from the Gauche Alchemy Wholey Sheet Kit. Although it had a very retro feel to it, I wanted it to look very old and distressed.

Step 1: With your fingers, wrinkle and crease the book page. Don’t worry about being gentle. The rougher you are with it, the better it will look in the end! Once you have created a lot of wrinkles and creases, lay the book page flat on your work surface and smooth it down with your palms.

Step 2: Open the Tim Holtz Distress Ink and lightly smooth it over the wrinkled book page. The ink will only transfer to the raised parts of the page.

Step 3: Open the Colorbox chalk ink and ink around the edges of the page on BOTH SIDES. Don’t worry about uneven inking, it only adds to the effect. Pay attention to the corners of the page (think about old books you’ve seen – the corners always seem to be more stained and aged that the center of the page.)

Step 4: Run your distress tool around the edges of the page. Again, don’t be gentle during this process. Even if you rip the edges a little, it will only add to the aged effect.

Step 5: If you have rips in the edges of the page, ink them with the Colorbox chalk ink, and then turn them down flat against the page.

Step 6: Lightly spray the page with Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist. There is no rhyme or reason to this step – just spray until you’re happy with the way it looks. More mist will make the page darker, so keep that in mind, especially when using more than one color of mist!

Following is my completed antiqued page:

And here is the final scrapbook layout project that I used my antiqued page on:

I hope you enjoyed learning this quick and easy way to distress and antique paper elements. Be sure to share the projects you use this technique on with us – we’d love to see what you create!

6 Responses

  1. That’s a great idea!! Did you know you can also use instant coffee to stain pages to make them look old? Just use water
    and a tiny bit of instant coffee and blend until it’s the consistency that you want (of course you don’t want it too, liquidy as it could damage the page. Take a paintbrush and dip it into the instant coffee solution and gently paint over the page. Wipe any excess. Let dry. Voila, instant “ageing”! I’ve done this many times and it works. However I haven’t done it recently, so I’ve forgotten the amount of instant coffee to water ratio, lol. So I guess you have to experiment with a scrap piece of paper. Hope this helps. Also I’ve found that doilies are great for making “old-timey” edges on homemade cards, photos, etc. Cut the edges from round doilies and glue them to the edges of your cards, photos, etc. Really gives a beautiful effect!

  2. That is SOOOOO adorable! I love the layout and the tutorial! : )

  3. LOVE DISTRESSING!!!!!! Your tutorial is awesome – messy and grungy, how i like it!

  4. Marlene, that is genius! I must try the coffee trick. I have used Walnut ink, which I’m assuming is similar, but coffee seems much more “green” since we all already have it around. Double score! 😉 I have used the doily trick before with Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist and it works very well. We need to pressure Amy and Heather and maybe they’ll find us a big stash of gorgeous doilies for the Gauche shop – hint hint! {wink}

  5. Love it! Great idea. I can hardly wait to try it when I make the Christmas photo books!

  6. Awesome techniques! And your finished layout is too cute! Great tip too Marlene, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

