DisCo Paper!

Recently, www.clothpaperscissors.com reminded me of a project they’ve entitled: “Create New Materials for Art Making” that I learned about many moons ago and always thought “wow that sounds SO COOL … i’ll do it tomorrow!” and tomorrow never became today. It’s Seth Apter’s “The Disintegration Collaboration” project in which he invited artists to let nature work her magic on physical objects over a period of time. His instructions are simple:

1. Create a paper bundle, any way you like.
2. Place said bundle in nature.
3. Post a “before” picture on your blog.
4. Watch and Wait.

So… tomorrow is TODAY. Especially when i saw some of the projects www.clothpaperscissors.com shared using the resulting materials from these bundles!

Some might know my fondness for recreating materials, tearing them apart and putting them back together … some might also know how much i crave grunge and see more beauty in dirt and rust and cracks than smooth manufactured $1 a sheet scrapbook paper (which i do buy but then tear up ahahahahaha). Couple all of this with my big plastic tote of scraps and materials that i “save for a rainy day” and I get this stack:

My rainy day scraps just waiting, nay BEGGING, for a rainy day!
Inside this pack we’ve got pieces from the Wholey Sheet Kit, some errant leftovers from the ACME Lot #3 Kit and other things I’ve used but couldnt just “throw away.” I’m experimenting with different materials in my pack – metal screen, wallpaper, painted waxed paper, lace, ribbon and keys in addition to newspaper, scrapbook paper, dictionary and sheet music etc

I’ve never been one to practice patience and I am chomping at the bits to see what happens to all of this, and then see where the materials take my imagination, but in the meantime I hung it in the middle of my yard so I can see it from my bedroom window and watch what the southern humidity, summer storms, morning dew, 110F degree sun does to it!

And now i want to see YOUR rainy day materials and how nature collaborates with them! Share some links in the comments, post to the Gauche Alchemy Flickr group … let’s do this thing!!!!! I promise to keep you updated every now and then with how my packet is doing 🙂

8 Responses

  1. Well I am in the South….and we haven’t had one day without rain in WEEKS…so this might be a good project for me. : ) p.s. you can have some of my rain if you would like it.

  2. Me, myself and I are tickled.

  3. Kas – we’ve been having LOTS of thunder and moisture but it hasnt poured rain. It appears in Atlanta we’re either flooded out or severe drought!

    Joyce! Do it!!! Today is the Day!

  4. Oh my goodness, this is going to turn out so cool! Can’t wait to see what happens!

  5. I am a big fan of Seth Apter’s. He rocks. I too am disintergrating as we speak!!

    Can’t wait to see what yours looks like!

  6. Wow. This takes a brave person. Not sure I have the guts to do this one.

  7. i agree with Jana! It really takes courage to do that….so..has it rained yet?

  8. OHHHH I WANT TO PLAY TOO!! I actually saw that article and thought , “how cool!” but I never did it , but now I am gonna do it for sure!

Leave a Reply

