Free as a Bird Art Journal Pages!

Last week we presented y’all with this months challenge – using the theme “Free As A Bird” to create a masterpiece. Post to your blog or Flickr account, leave a direct link to your project IN THIS POST by midnight on Sunday, June 25th and then a winner will received a $10.00 gift certificate to our Artfire Store.

Now for a couple more Design Team Projects to get your creative juices flowing…
(don’t forget to check out our other design team creations here)

Art Journal Pages! What makes you feel more free than playing in an art journal?! Well, for me not much… anyways…

Angela:

The cover of the journal was made using sheet music from the Wholey Sheet Kit adhered to Ouchless Cardboard using Mod Podge (just on the back, not the front!) Once it was dry, I stripped pieces of the stuck down sheet music off, letting the Ouchless Cardboard peek through around the edges.

I have been very into using the magazine pages for all sorts of page elements and projects lately! On this journal, I took a semi-transparent Heidi Swapp bird sticker and stuck it on top of a magazine page from my ACME Lot #3 Kit. I outlined the bird with silver Stickles paint. I then free-hand cut clouds from the remainder of the magazine page, and then used a round paint brush and blue acrylic paint to create swirled patterns on the clouds.

I accented the cover using miscellaneous jewels and odds and ends from my Mixed Media Color Kits. Once I had put the entire cover together, I cut holes into the top using my Exacto knife, and replaced the existing cover with my new one!

Lara:

The background of this page is paint i’ve used for other projects – nearly every page in my art journal I’ve used for a palette for something else so I never have to start with a white page. I find this helps me a long when i sit down to start something! The flower i cut out from a magazine, the birds and quote are from a sheet included in the ACME Lot #3 Kit. And, well, it wouldn’t be a Lara project without some Punchinella somewhere!

OK gauchettes – lets see what makes you feel free! Remember to link up TO THIS POST by midnight on Sunday, June 25th. One lucky random winner will received a $10.00 gift certificate to our Artfire Store.

9 Responses

  1. These are fantastic!
    Angela- love what you did with the bird.
    Lara- love the Punchinella flower center

  2. Oh my! These look awesome! I am inspired to add to my art journal (which sadly only has 1 page filled!)…

  3. These are gorgeous. Angela that birdy is just gorgeous – I have a similar birdy in acetate that I’ve not been sure what to do with for ages. You just gave me an AHA! moment!

    Lara – you are truly the goddess of paint. I’ve started using paper as a pallette now because of you rather than the plate I had been using – I’m building up a gorgeous stock of patterned paper far better than any scrapbook paper you can buy. It’s a brilliant way to use papers in your stash that are perhaps not qute to your taste too 😉

  4. Carmen – amen to all of that! You are so right about using paper that you would never use for anything else!

  5. Wow, these are amazing! I love the layering here, I so need to work on that aspect in my creations! lol

  6. Excellent comment!! Very interesting… Looking for more posts like this!! Keep you the goodwork!
    Anyway thank you for this info.

  7. Surgery, which is a condition that occurs when the pH slightly favors the alkalis.

    In this position, look down and you’ll start feeling it in multiple places. Causes of psoriasis treatment nyc after MealsKidney and Pancreatic Disorders: The left side of the neck, muscles, back muscles and spine to handle the increasing task of supporting the spine and spinal column. Use your neck as little as 2 Hours. Here’s a quick
    test. Though psoriasis treatment nyc is not dangerous to the patient?
    But since then, never not once.

  8. Attractive portion of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to claim that I acquire actually loved account your weblog posts.
    Any way I will be subscribing in your augment or
    even I success you access constantly rapidly.

  9. Simply want to say your article is as astounding.
    The clearness to your post is simply cool and that i could suppose
    you are knowledgeable in this subject. Well with your permission allow me to snatch your feed to keep updated
    with imminent post. Thanks one million and please continue the
    rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

