Introducing Alchemist Carmen!

Hi everyone, Carmen here aka Whoopidoo in various places around Blogland…unless some other inconsiderate oik has beaten me to it, THEN I’m craftywhoopidoo.  Honestly – the cheek of some people.

I thought I’d take this opportunity to introduce myself to you all, let you know the kind of stuff I enjoy doing. I live in the UK and I’ve been crafting on and off in some guise or other for most of my life. For various reasons it tailed off in my late teens and through my early 20’s. Crappy life sucky stuff and all that but discovering Scrapbooking… or rather discovering that what I had been doing had an actual name was the life changing, door kicking open moment that set me off again. I’ve been seriously crafty since my 30th birthday and now at 33 call myself *tongue in cheek* an “artiste” since the GA girls let me sneak on to their team *g* Feel free to pay homage with peanutty M&M’s anytime you like 😉

Funnily enough I don’t scrapbook so much anymore. I’ve found a love of altering things…

I love to draw and paint…

You might have noticed I have a soft spot for a certain Mr Cooper, he crops up a lot in what I make. I’m also inspired by movies… Old black & white movies, I adore Bette Davis – fantasy and horror… not the slasher flicks, I like my monsters decidedly fantastic and NOT of the human variety, I’m a tad squeamish when it comes to that sort. I love anything grungey, vintage or gothic… ghosties and ghoulies, zombies, vampires, werewolves… monsters of myth and legend – they all have their own little place in my heart. Cutesy stuff is more likely to creep me out than any night time scurrying beastie.

I’m the kind of crafter that is easily distracted by other things, techniques, classes – what have you. I’d love to learn it all but I want to learn it NOW! As a result I’m always buying equipment that I desperately NEED. A prime example is the Cuttlebug… which I sold when I NEEDED a Bind It All… which I sold when I absolutely HAD TO HAVE a melt pot… but I now have a burning desire for MORE paint, pencils and brushes… so the melt pots days may be numbered 😉

I love the way Gauche Alchemy encourages you to work outside of the box – look around you for what you can use in your art – be inspired by anything and everything. Since I discovered the blog and the amazing people that frequent it and run it I have been led down so many different creative paths that I doubt very much I would have discovered otherwise… It’s shown me that it’s OK to like the stuff and the art that I do and to actually make what I like and love and not what I think is expected – it’s easy to fall into the trap of “oh but what I do is nothing like that” when you see so many gorgeous blogs out there. But GA has shown me that I can like and enjoy other styles or art and can still do my own thing. I don’t have to follow the crowd – I can be me. And for that I am forever grateful to you all… and am still in slight starry eyed awe that I’m here and part of the team. So hello everyone 🙂 This is me! Cheers for sticking with this very nervous first post this far 😉

-Carmen

===============================
Want to know what else is brewing at Gauche Alchemy?

Get our ACME kit delivered to your door every month with our ACME Subscription service!
Go shopping for your own Gauche goodies in our rockin’ Store!
E-mail us anytime: gauchealchemy@cox.net
Join the Gauche party on Facebook!
Stalk us on Twitter!
Drool over Gauche creations and add your own in our Flickr Group!

15 Responses

  1. I’m lucky enough to own a Whoopidoo altered duck from a swap on a forum–and he sits pride of place on my shelf!!!
    Carmen does fab stuff, and i hope we manage to be in another swap together someday xx

  2. Well, hello Miss Carmen! Great intro, no need to be nervous at all!

    Consider me welcoming you and throwing peanut M&Ms at the same time. Best of luck with your Gauche career!

    Julie 😀

  3. Ah Carmen you’re first post on Gauche Alchemy I’m kneeling and bowing profusely in the I’m not worthy kind of way LOL! Throwing copious amounts of peanut M & M’s – hope you’re having a grand day!

    Hugs

  4. Hi Carmen, you know I’m a huge fan of your style, I totally understand when you put about all those beautiful blogs that are lovely but they just arent our style, it can be quite demotivating, so thank goodness theres peeps like you who just go for it 🙂

    Oooo, have a whole bag of peanust M&Ms, asda has them on offer at the moment 😉

  5. Love your post. You work is really cool.
    (I love Alice Cooper also !!!!)
    I am looking forward to seeing more of your work while you are here at GA!!

  6. You certainly have a style of your own…Your work is awesome Carmen! 🙂 And you’re funny! 🙂

  7. I am just SOOOOOOOO happy you’re on the team! I love your work, now I just need to come to the UK so I can learn at your feet! 🙂

  8. Yay – welcome to the team, Carmen! Looking forward to more duckies!!!! (Among other things… lol)

  9. Hiya, Carmen! Welcome on board and looks like you’ll be right at home with the fab ladies over here.

    Wonderful work and looking forward to seeing more inspiration from yah. =)

  10. Oh Carmen-that’s a familiar story-except I never sell my bits and pieces-you never know when you might need a cuttlebug or bind-it -all—but I don’t have a meltpot-should I?

  11. Hey Carmen,

    Loved your post and your gorgeous art work.

    I have to admit, my jaw hit the floor a bit when I saw that you sold your Cuttlebug – it’s my most used tool. That said, I hated the BIA and got rid of it as soon as I could.

  12. Carman, My Carman I’m going to throw stale peanut M&M’s at your A. Cooper art and it’s going to melt and get gross and notz cutesyz and that’s going to make you sit down all bug eyed with awe at my techniques!
    I just had this flash of awesomeness…to stack rows of altered duckies and take a photo of them and turn it into poster size.
    If I must, I’ll say welcome to you 🙂
    I won a drawing class last night!!!
    The nerve of your nerves! tell em to go away they’re stupid!

  13. *on hands and knees gathering up all the M&M’s* Thank you everyone 😛 You know how to make a girl feel welcome.

    Nicole – this past few months I have been toying with the idea of getting another bug. I didn’t really use it at the time and now that I haven’t got it I see all these fabby ideas around the web. Typical innit? My BIA didn’t even make it out of the box *blush*

    Maggi – oh how I would love for you to come to the UK! Come do a workshop or summat, we need to annoy my OH with all that glitter you spread 😀

    Joyce – BRILLIANT, well done are you going to show us what you drew?? You’ll be pleased to know my nearly 3yr old decided Alice needed some work to and she has since finger painted all over him so he looks like he’s got black zits!

    K – you KNOW I’m so off to Asda’s tomorrow now.

  14. Being another owner of a special WhoopiQuackidoo from the delicious Carmen I can also confirm that she is quite worthy of her new position 🙂

    …not going to offer you peanut m and ms didn’t you *know* they are synful? Give them here!

    *profers hand*

    😉

    Welcome, sexy artiste!

    xxxxxxxx

  15. Great first post Carmen! I have followed your blog for about a year now and yours is the first blog I hop to when I sign into mine! I love seeing all the amazing things you create and love your wit and funny stories! You are amazingly talented and so deserve your place on this DT! x

Leave a Reply

