Pam’s Inspiration

Inspiration… where do you find yours?

I find I spend too many hours on the internet.  One link leads to another and I am led through a maze of talented artists, all of whom inspire me one way or another.  While I get plenty of inspiration I usually end up with no time to transform that inspiration into art projects.  So this week I made an effort to get off the computer and do some projects.  I thought you might be interested to know who or what has been inspiring me lately and see the projects I’ve created.

Firstly, for scrapbooking inspiration I give you the the wonderful Louise Nelson. Lou is one of my fellow design team friends over at The Creative Type (new challenges starting soon at The Creative Type by the way).

Louise has such a unique scrapbooking style which looks so easy.  Believe me, it’s not!  Louise doesn’t use much in the way of product when she scraps, but everything she uses is perfectly chosen and perfectly placed.  She usually uses a restrained colour palette, often on kraft cardstock with a squirt of glimmer mist here and a splash of paint there embellished with string, or tissue paper or found bits and bobs. You can see more of Louise’s unique style on her blog, An Uninterrupted View.

So, taking my inspiration from Lou, here is my attempt to scrap Louise style:

The other thing that has inspired me lately is hand bound books.  I’ve been searching through Flickr groups (my favourite hunting ground for creative inspiration) and found a number of groups dedicated to handmade books.  There are a couple: here, here and now for a real treat on the bookmaking front here.

Aren’t her books exquisite? Full of lovely texture, books you want to stroke and keep forever.  So after all that inspiration I decided to order a couple of books about how to make handmade books and bookbinding and these two books duly arrived from Amazon.

These books are both great for step by step instructions.  So armed with these and the fabulous 12×12 wallpaper samples from Gauche Alchemy, I embarked on the making of my very first hand bound book.  And here it is:

Not bad for a first attempt, even if I do say so myself!  I’ll probably use it for an art journal.  As I mentioned, Flickr is a great source of inspiration and while you’re there don’t forget our very own Gauche Alchemy Flickr group is also full of inspiring projects-and we would love you to upload any of your Gauche Alchemy projects there too!

-Pam

8 Responses

  1. I love that bound book Pam!! Amazing. It’s perfect for those gorgeous samples. Istill have some of mine [can’t bear to sue them!] and, if I thought I could do as good a job as you … I’d turn them into a book too!

    Great post 🙂

  2. Your scrapbook layout is simply to die for. Just gorgeous, elegant, simplistic, yet so full of delicious goodies!!

    Love it!!

    Crafty Hugs!
    Meredith

  3. Thanks for the kind words ladies,
    Julie, believe me-that book was surprisingly easy-and quick. The longest part was the covers, waiting for theglue to dry!

  4. Oh wow Pam. Thank you so much for the links and the book info (guess what’s going on my wishlist??) Your book and page is amazing, YOU are so very inspirational to me 🙂

  5. Love the simple but graphic style of your layout Pam!!!! And I love your handbound journal too! 🙂

  6. Love it! I make my own books too. There’s something very satisfying about making a book and then using it.

  7. Beautiful work, Pam! =)

  8. That layout is absolutely beautiful!

Leave a Reply

