Talking Trash with Kas

Last month I had a wonderful opportunity to go to the landfill.  No, my life is not that dull!

I got to go with some high school students from the Fine Arts Center.  Their focus this year is on recycling, upcycling, etc..

The COOLEST part was getting to go through the separated metals area.  We each got to take home something we found.  The kids incorporated them into projects during metals class (I did the same thing, but at home).  I also got some cool pictures.  I just loved this one of the barbed wire with the fall leaves stuck on it.

There are some more pictures from this trip on my blog HERE.

The background of the page is the backside of a 12×12 package.  I used items from the Acme kit, Wholly Sheet, Banana Hammock and Lady Marmelade mixed media color kits.  I also used some copper Punchinella.  The “orange stuff” is melted Easter grass saved from last year.  It was ironed between sheets of waxed paper in a SUPER ventilated area.  (do not try this at home)

7 Responses

  1. It always amazes me how beautiful left-overs can be this goes for foods as well as scrap! and I always have lots of fun!

    Love Dawn xx

  2. i love the photo too! And your layout is so full of textures…super adore the leaves at the bottom of the page!

  3. Wow what fun! Love the look of the orange stuff and the gorgeous leaves across the bottom.

  4. This is so cool-so much to look at!!

  5. Love it!
    I wanna talk some trash too!

  6. oooooh Kas, AWEsome

  7. What a great upcycled project! Love the textures! 🙂

Leave a Reply

