User Spotlight: Karen Baker

Hi there Gauchites! Today we are introducing a new segment on the Gauche Alchemy blog…we are going to spotlight our users! 🙂

Check out this awesome frame that Karen Baker of The Bald Dragonfly made for her crafting space!

Getting organized has always been a difficult thing for me. I struggle with even remembering to be organized! I created this little frame to coordinate with my craft room decor as a constant visual reminder to get organized! The process began by cutting a piece of white cardstock to size, altering chipboard letters and dumping two of Gauche Alchemy’s amazing little kits, Black Out and Blue Streak onto my craft desk and then wheels started turning. My eye went to the blue little elephant bead first-what a cute way to represent “remember”! I tied the pin to one of the letters as an additional representation of “remember” with some silver fiber from the Black Out kit.

To balance the handmade pin, I added a shiny row of sequins that were calling to be on the project and a cute blue ruffle trim, each from their respective Mixed Media kits. The final icing on the cake was to dot the letter “i” with a large rhinestone (also included in the blue kit). I could have gone many different routes for this frame and added a lot more embellishments- as the kits are jam packed with awesome finds- but I kept the project reflective of my personal crafting style, clean and simple, as a way to help me to remember to organize, the first step in getting organized!

Karen Baker

I’m a graphic designer by trade, wife, and a mama to two energetic, young boys and always a crafter at heart. I’m passionate about white space, composition and color and am an advocate of clean design in my creations. I usually have a memory or story to go along with my card so I like to include that in my posts on my blog.

Blog: The Bald Dragonfly

*******************************************************************************************************

Thank you for sharing your project with us Karen!

7 Responses

  1. Karen this is elegant, simple, crisp and GORGEOUS!! Such a fabulous and inspiring piece to help you keep your mind and craft space clear!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Hugs!
    Meredith

  2. Yahooo for Karen…big fan of her style and love what she has done…all the details are perfect!

  3. Yeah Karen, fun to see you spotlighting more fun kits! Organized? Who says we need to be organized?

  4. Great idea. Like a little mantra for a morning meditation….I will organize…I will organize…

  5. karen, this is just lovely!

  6. Gorgeous! Just love the elephant used in that way! 😀

Leave a Reply

