Organize your inspiration

Hey hey hey everyone! Maggi here! What, you didn’t think you could get rid of me that easily did you? Muwahahahaha! Well, I’m back in Guest Blogger form, here to add my two cents to the Gauche Girls theme of “Organization”. When I was asked to contribute a post regarding organization my first thought was, “Are you nuts?! Moi, organized??? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!” But then I stopped laughing and started thinking…

Being a big believer in piles and extreme clutter, I am the LEAST knowledgeable authority on organization I know and there’s so many awesome sites out there with great ideas to get you organized. (One blog post in particular from Van at Thrift Core called Organization Inspiration: DIY Clutter Killers comes to mind) BUT there’s one area of my life that I organize, plan and plot like nobody’s business: Inspiration. I scour the internet looking for inspiration, I bookmark sites, pictures and blogs. I make lists of things, people and places that inspire me. And I love sharing those things on my blog Just Add Glitter and Stir, share the wealth and all that you know. 😛

For most creative types, “inspiration clutter” results in its own place of honor: the inspiration board. This can be canvas, cardboard, wood, anything you can use as a “board” to jot down, glue on, tape up all of those bits and baubles that inspire you to create every day. Having something like this in your craft space (or any place in your home where you can see it on a daily basis) is a great way to get all of those things “cluttering” your mind out into the open where you can enjoy them and be inspired by them all the time.

I went looking around and found some fabulous boards and their owners who graciously gave me permission to post them here for you to enjoy!

Melissa from Peanut Butter in My Hair created this board to keep her favorite inspirational words front and center:

Vanessa from A Fanciful Twist created this lovely inspiration board for her studio:

Theresa from Faerie Moon Creations created an inspiration table (love this idea!):

Jamie from Jamie Ridler Studios leads a full moon dreamboard event every month and shared one of her awesome personal dreamboards with me:

Now as for moi, I’ve been collecting doo dads and throwing them into a box since December 2009 thinking that one day I would make my own inspiration board and I’ve finally done it! Here’s mine:

You can read more about the evolution of my inspiration board on my blog. 😀 So what are you waiting for? Whether it’s a table, a board, a box or a whole wall – make it a point to organize your inspiration ASACP! (As Soon As Creatively Possible :P)

Thanks to the Gauche Girls for letting me take over the blog for a day! Now go glue something awesome onto some awesome something! 😀

7 Responses

  1. Hi Maggi: Thanks for the mention, of course, for the inspiration. I keep tons of inspiring bits in boxes, but never got the chance to proudly display them. This blog reminds me to make the time to do it!

  2. I will be doing this ASAP when I move into the stu-stu-studio. Yes Miss Maggi I will indeedy! Love these!

  3. oo..thanks for the inspiration! I need one of those too!!

  4. Mine has been a work-in-progress for a long time…I hope to have something to share soon! 🙂

  5. Miss you! I SOOO need to do this! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Thanks so much for sharing all these great sources of inspiration! And thanks for including my table. 🙂 Theresa

  7. Thanks for the reminder…I’ve got to do this or my creativity is gonna die on the vine!

Leave a Reply

