Lara’s Pieces Not Thrown Away

Lara here!
Long time no post … i know, i know…
2011 brings new intentions which amongst them is CREATE MORE (or rather again).
I’m pushing myself to try wall pieces this year. While i love working in art journals and other smaller layouts I can put in scrapbook binders, i want to branch out and try something different and something i can, well, appreciate in a different way…

The center quote is from Howard Finster, a folk artist, who’s work I recently saw as part of an exhibit at the Atlanta High Museum of Art. I took a photo of this wall plaque he created (so any misspellings are not on me 🙂 ). Although most of his work is a little on the religious side for me, being a fond admirer of found objects in art, I latched onto this quote.

The quote is surrounded by found objects from my own drawers as well as pieces from various Gauche Alchemy mixed media kits. The base is a 5″x7″ piece of thick chipboard. I spray painted most of the elements in blue and used Golden Extra Heavy Gel/Molding Paste mixed with blue acrylic paint as the adhesive.

Anyways… good way of using up some of those bits and pieces!
What do you have in your collection?

3 Responses

  1. this is beautiful.. I love the quote!

  2. this is SPECTACULAR!!! super inspiring!!!

    Hugs!
    Meredith

  3. It’s gorgeous and I love the quote – misspellings and all. If you hadn’t said who did this I would’ve sworn the bits came from a colour kit!

Leave a Reply

