Lara’s 2011 Art Journal

New Year = New Art Journal for Lara.
This is the third year I will be participating in the Year in a Life of an Art Journal project, and this year I actually did the cover first! Usually it’s an afterthought for some weird reason…
I used many a Gauche supply for the cover as well as the journal itself!

I’ve completed the front cover with many things from Gauche Alchemy kits like sheet music and punchinella. The background are paint strips from the Hardware Store cut up and interwoven.

This year I’ve switched it up a little and tried to perfect what i’ve learned works for me in an art journal by using different sorts of papers at different sizes. All papers are heavyweight with different textures and size. Many also from Gauche Alchemy kits. I’ve also elected to use holes to bind so if i need to take them out to work on them easier OR if a paper isnt doing it for me and i want to replace the page with a different type of paper i can.

The thing I think i’ve decided i like best about art journals are the bits that hang over the edges and make you want to explore. Therefore the pages are different sizes and orientations to exaggerate this!

Are you keeping an art journal?

One Response

  1. This looks awesome Lara! I love the idea of different size pages…makes me think I can just journal on a piece of scrap paper any where and just slip it in! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

