Happy Love Month!

Hey Y’all!

So, by now you’ve probably guessed that the monthly theme here at GA for February is ‘Things I Love’… Can’t imagine why that would be, with this being love month & all…  😉

Besides the usual kids, husband, blah blah blah, one of the things I love most is creating things for my 6-year-old daughter, Emily.  She’s one of the few people I know in real life that really appreciates the things I create, and she loves them all the more if they’re things she can take to school to show off to her friends! 

With Valentine’s Day just around the corner, I figured I better get on making her Valentine mail box for this year.  Last year, I picked up one of those make-it-yourself kits from Hobby Lobby – and it was pretty cool for kindergarten… this year, the original intention was to alter one of those little $1 ones from Target; something that would be a little more solid that she could use for the next couple years, ya know?  Well, that was all well and good, until I found myself at Hobby Lobby yesterday, where they had big papier mache mailboxes – and 40% off, to boot! (YAY!)

I painted this guy up with some Folk Art ‘Metallic Bluye Topaz’ acrylic paint – OMG.  I’m in love with this stuff!  It’s soooo perfectly metallic-y… and the colour range is so bright & fun! (I *might* have bought all the metallic colours…)  On the front door of the box, I added some tulle from the Pink Parts Mixed Media Colour Kit, along with some teal satin ribbon, some fabric rose trim  and some glittery pink letters.

I then sprayed some of my favourite dollar store lace with some Glimmer Mist so it’d be all nice & pink, and attached that, followed by some more of that yummy teal satin ribbon around the opening of the box.

This is the backside of the flag – a couple felt hearts from my stash, a star from the Blue Streak Mixed Media Colour Kit, and some more fun tulle & this hilarious little love frog guy thinger from the Pink Parts Mixed Media Colour Kit!

Finally, this is the front of the flag  – there are all sorts of goodies from the Pink Parts & Blue Streak Kits, as well as a little more lace & some felt hearts!

Ms Emily saw it when she woke up this morning, and quite literally squealed – and then she goes, “Mom, you didn’t happen to make this for someone in particular, did you…?!”  (*Hint hint*)  Let’s just say, she was a *little* thrilled when I told her who it was for… and then she started squealing again when I told her it was intended to go to school!

Hope y’all are having a happy love month so far – see ya back next week!

3 Responses

  1. OH I just love this Steph!! It is adorable!!

  2. AWESOME

  3. Oh my! This is lovely! Love that shade of metallic topaz!!! It’s always nice to have your own little fan club! 😉

Leave a Reply

