A story of hope by Julie Fei-Fan Balzer!

Amy’s note: All of Julie’s projects this month incorporate pieces from our Hot for Teacher kit – get a little piece of the action for yourself at our ArtFire shop!

Hi!  Julie Fei-Fan Balzer here again!  I’m so pleased to be guest designing for Gauche Alchemy this month!  For my third “lucky” project I continued to play with those painted papers I made last week…

Before
Before

…and created this canvas:

GirlCanvas-sm
I was looking through some of the ephemera I got.  Lots of it was yearbook pages and it got me thinking about what happened to all of these anonymous people on these pages.  I started making up stories in my head — some tragic and some happy.  And that got me thinking about how some people have all the luck…or is it the right attitude?  And so I started to create a story about someone who refused to feel like she had bad luck.  Rather she is in charge of her future!

GirlCanvasDetail1-sm
I really like the symbolism of using all of these paper shards to represent something shattered, but put back together again.

GirlCanvasDetail2-sm
GirlCanvasDetail2-sm
Thanks for letting me share!

4 Responses

  1. Wowwwwwwww! This is just amazing! TFS! :):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

  2. Fabulous Julie!!!

  3. Very cool…I think the idea of using yearbook pages is wonderful! The best thing about using old photos is making up stories about who the people were and what their lives might have been like!

  4. Love all the symbolism you’ve packed in and love the story behind the story!

Leave a Reply

