Carmen’s Clicker Clacker…

Hi everyone – Carmen here!
 
I thought I’d would share with you a tutorial I put together a while ago. I love making these things – I don’t know the proper name but I call them Clicker Clackers. With a little effort you’ll get a really effective and unique gift.
  VIDEO  <— Click!
 *Excuse the traffic noise – it’s my first ever video and I know not how to do music/mute it and all that jazz!*
 
I got the idea from my youngest daughter’s fabric toy…
 
 
You will need 8 blocks to begin with. These can be blocks made of paper, wood or whatever. I used wooden for this particular Clicker Clacker. I’ve also accumulated some more in plastic from a charity shop bargain toy bucket – 50p for around 10 blocks so it’s worth checking boot fairs, yard sales, thrift stores etc.
 
 
You need to hinge together 2 blocks so that you end up with 4 pairs. I attempted this with ribbon the first time, to make it pretty – very, VERY flimsy. So I now use sturdy scraps of card. Like so:
 
 
Now you see how I’ve positioned them? Well this is how the set-up needs to be but the two middle horizontal pairs need to have the hinge on the back. I took the picture this way so I would remember which way the hinges went.
 
 
I hope that makes sense. Next you need to hinge the top of the first front block with the first middle block. and then the second middle block with the end block and then the same on the bottom as shown by the green lines here:
 
 
 
And that’s it. You are all hinged. (Well, that’s debatable with some of you! Ahahaha!) So have a little play to get the creases in the hinges nice and flexible.
 
 
 
Tips:
I used double sided tape on the hinges and pictures. My girls played with this particular clacker constantly and the sticky on the tape started coming away a bit so I would suggest using the tape while you are positioning but then something a bit stronger to finish it all off.

 

 
Psst! Have you taken part in Julie’s challenge yet? You only have till the 8th! Don’t forget to enter the giveaway in the March issue of the newsletter too – Gauche goodies galore!
 
 

Have fun playing 🙂

 

The hinges do show through the picture so maybe it wasn’t such a good idea to use BRIGHT red card 😉

You need to allow a couple of millimetres between the bricks when hinging. Once the pictures are on it gets a bit snug.

When choosing your pictures either have a really large image that wont matter being segmented or if you have a group of people try and position each face on a block so they aren’t obscured by a cut or hinge. Some of the images in the Napkin Kit, some of the vintage images in the Monthly Kits or the collage sheets would look amazing!

8 Responses

  1. ooh Carmen that’s lovely and sooooooooo tactile – I likey – I likey a lot – haven’t checked the video out yet but I will!

  2. Brilliant. Will definately be making one of these. Thanks for sharing xx

  3. I remember this! It looks great on the video. Thanks for all the step-by-step instructions and maker’s hints & tips 😉 bet my two boys would love it!

  4. oh my gosh…i have been wanting to make one of these…i got the blocks and everything…just not the directions!! THANKS!!!

  5. cool toy!!! Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. That’s amazing, can’t quite get my head around it, it’s really effective you clever bunny!
    Kandi x

  7. You are too good at this crafty stuff! I’m telling you 😛

  8. Very clever, thank you for this tutorial.

    xx

Leave a Reply

