Michelle’s Mini Guide to Hipstamatic

Well hellooo there!

I’m Michelle and this is my first post for Gauche Alchemy! I am SO excited! Today I want to take a few minutes to talk up a fabulous app for your iPhone called Hipstamatic.

Norman outlook on the Amalfi Coast- Libatique 73 lens and Ina’s 1969 film

I know this is a pretty sophisticated audience. (You wouldn’t be shopping our delicious wares otherwise!)  But just in case you don’t already have it, Hipstamatic is an app that spices up your iPhone photos with lens and film effects. Each “lens” and “film” combination adds different borders, lens effects, funky colors or enhances contrast. You can also share your photos much like Instagram on Facebook, Twitter or via email (there are more options but those are the ones I use).

Solar Flare Portrait  Chunky lens, Cano Cafenol film

This isn’t a format for lovers of perfect focus or high definition images with lots of detail. The effects aren’t even predictable but that’s the fun part! To the left of the lens graphic on your iPhone screen there is a switch that allows you to choose “high quality” or “standard quality”. Keep the camera on the high quality setting- there are no drawbacks as both settings are relatively low resolution. You will be able to fit thousands of photos in your iPhone – my 32 gig iTouch is currently holding 3,849 photos and there’s plenty of room for more.

Power Plant- John S Lens, Blanko film

Hipstamatic also has a print shop where you can order 4×4 or 7×7 prints and have them mailed to you.  I personally use Adobe Photoshop to add several images to an 8×10 page and print them at home. Printing the square format photos at your local drugstore will only yield images that have been cropped heavily on both sides unless you are a Photoshop software wiz who can add white bars to the photo for proper automatic printing.

My favorite lenses are:

The Libatique 73 gives the photo a gorgeous antique brown and cream tone but also softens and preserves the strongest colors so you get some nice color pop effects.

Helping Daddy Fly a kite- Libatique 73 Alfred Infrared

The Buckhorst H1 evens out the contrast on a photo and gives it a sunny yellow tint.

Buckhorst H1 lens and Ina’s 1969 film

The Watts Lens gives your photos a hot pink cast, especially around the borders and is high contrast so it’s best for inside or cloudy day shots. Photos taken in sunny weather look great but you will get black holes where eyes should be- kinda creepy.

Cloudy Sky- Watts Lens and Big Up Film

My Fave films are:

Big Up film- the companion “film” to the Watts lens, it gives your photos a randomly chosen pink, yellow, white or black duct tape border which is UTTERLY fabulous!

Beach Toes- Watts Lens and Big Up Film

Black Keys Super Grain- gives the photo a stark black and white grainy look with a black border- great for moody “Here’s Lookin’ at you kid” shots.

Reader at High Line Park-  John S lens, Black Keys Super Grain Film

Ina’s 1969- gives the photo a retro slide border and an overall bluish cast. Fantastic retro effect!

Paestum, Italy. Libatique 73 lens and Ina’s 1969 film

Now go on and shoot yourself silly!

Michelle

12 Responses

  1. Dudette, your Reader at High Line Park shot is incredible. Wish I had an iPhone JUST for hipstamatic!

  2. I’ve never tried Hipstamatic but this post makes me want to try, these look so cool!

  3. Wow Michelle!!!!!!!!!
    Right, I went to the app store and searched for hipstamatic. It’s not free is it?
    Is it different to instagram? Soz for all the questions, just want to be sure before u splurge a whole £1.49 lol xx

  4. Yeah I should have included that it costs 2 dollars (1.49 for those on the Brit pound). PLUS a dollar for each “lens” you buy from the HipstaMart. Expensive when compared to Instagram but Instagram forces you to choose a filter then post before you can take the next shot- which is quite VEXING when you want to take several shots in a row. Also, word to the wise, the HipstaMart lens and film “descriptions” are annoyingly coy- the best way to check out what each lens does is to buy it, use it and see if you like it.

  5. Great overview, Michelle! I have, but rarely use the Hipstamatic app on my phone, but your photos/descriptions are making me want to try it out again!

  6. You have a great eye for composing a picture, and these fun filters make me wish I had an iPhone!

  7. […] Michelle’s Mini Guide to Hipstamatic « Gauche Alchemy. […]

  8. I really do need to get with it and do what all the cool kids do. I still use the original iPhone, version outdated point 1, ha.

  9. Fabulous post. I need an i-phone – except my husband has one and my big banana fingers can’t type properly onto it!!

    All these photos are stunning. The reader at High Line Park shot is especially awesome

    Here’s another question – are you aware of an online (free?!?!) editing tool that does similar things?

  10. Ah…. if only I weren’t a deadly mobile phone killer and could trust myself with an i-phone. This looks so much fun… but seeing as I literally just had a phone meets toilet full of crap incident this week… I don’t think it’s going to happen any time soon. Alas. Alack. and sigh.

  11. I am a Hipstamatic convert after I read this article (Thanks, Michelle!), and it is delightfully easy to make coolio photos with little effort.

  12. […] Michelle’s Mini Guide to Hipstamatic (gauchealchemy.wordpress.com) Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Posted in Animal Welfare and tagged Hipstamatic, Hound Group, iPhone, Photograph, reflection, Smartphones […]

Leave a Reply

