Tranny love on Halloween

Gotcha!

Michelle’s in da house.

This ain’t a post about The Rocky Horror Picture Show or how the typical American male only shows his true love for lycra and high heels on Halloween.

This is a post about shooting projects that feature transparencies.

I blame Fauve for giving me the idea.

Fauve is gonna kill me for publishing this but I wanted to show two things:

1. Girlfriend’s got it goin’ ON design wise.

2. Shooting trannies has it’s challenges but it’s fairly easy to do if you give yourself some space.

After sending this perfectly awesome project photo to me:

For this page Fauve used the Limited Edition Halloween Mixed Media Color Kit.

Fauve asked if there was a way to shoot this page without getting her reflection in the shot. I instantly found myself searching for said reflection and after much consternation and fruitless wiping of my glasses, I finally found it. Personally, I’d be geeked about producing such an awesome page but Fauve has more talent & taste than I do so she promised to reshoot and send another version over- don’t worry about it Fauve- this is great!

See that on the lower left corner- no, not that- THAT! Shoulder be GONE!

Here is what I suggested :

  1. Stick the project up on the window using transparent glue dots.
  2. Put  the camera on a tripod (or the back or a sturdy piece of furniture) at least 6 feet away and level with the center of your project.
  3. Crop out as much of the area around the picture as you can and shoot.
  4. Blur any window and any background details by lowering the f-stop to the lowest position that still gives you a good exposure on the project. Use a bounce card (some foil taped to a cardboard and aimed at the project) to further add light to the project if necessary.

You got yourself a photo of a highly reflective surface with no “you” in the shot.

Fauve also submitted a second Halloween project. How does this relate to my Trannie plot so far? Not at all but who cares?

For this Halloween decor project Fauve used some white ouchless cardboard, the limited edition Halloween Mixed Media color kit and punchinella as a stencil.

I love this project! The black brads in the border are my favorite detail. I also like how Fauve got some texture into this clean and simple project by using a piece of punchinella to add those yellow moons in the background. That takes some stencil painting skillz by the way-  the corrugation isn’t exactly a stable paint surface.

Some tantalizing Gauche product shots to get you to mosey on over to the shop:

Limited Edition Halloween Mixed Media Color Kit

White 12x12 Ouchless cardboard

The corrugated board is one of my favorite products ever. It’s so easy to rip up, punch shapes into, squish into layers, cut into strips and made into flowers… perfect for painting, misting and pouring hot wax onto, I highly recommend you pick up a pack- you’ll go through them very quickly.

Chells out!

2 Responses

  1. can we get some writer awards for this girl?? i LOVE what you do! Great halloween page Fauve – good inspiration for those who struggle with halloween layouts x

  2. Michelle you are adorable!! 🙂
    And i am definately trying your ideas for my next tranny design!!
    Love xoxo

Leave a Reply

