Dead sexy Altoid tin and Mooorrrrre…Caution: teeny cute/scary Day of the Dead post ahead.

Hey and hello there my fine friends!

Ngaire here wishing you all  a Happy Día de los Muertos to you!

Yup It is the annual Día de los Muertos celebration here at Gauche Alchemy.

For  those of you who don t know about the Day of the Dead Holiday ( and I , until  recently, was amongst you). Our trusty wiki search tells me this:

The “Day of the Dead” is a Mexican holiday. The holiday focuses on gatherings of family and friends to pray for and remember friends and family members who have died. It is particularly celebrated in Mexico, where it attains the quality of a National Holiday. The celebration takes place on November 1st and 2nd, in connection with the Catholic holidays of All Saints’ Day (November 1) and All Souls’ Day (November 2). Traditions connected with the holiday include building private altars honoring the deceased using sugar skullsmarigolds, and the favorite foods and beverages of the departed and visiting graves with these as gifts.

Cool huh? As well as remembering your lost loved ones.. you get to do all sorts of cool and amazing stuff…  as  a non Mexican, non American Aussie.. I can honestly say this holiday appeals to me to the MAX!!

As you may or may not know.. you can find some VERY cool skull beads around the place. They often look like this:

skullies

BUT .. get a LOAD of these wee guys…OH my freakin’ goddess of all that is creepy.. LOOK at them!

rocking the sugar skull look!

and to get an idea of how teeny they are ( and how NUTSO Chrissy is for making them…:)

teeeeeeeny!!!!

But then… she went COMPLETELY BONKERS and made the most amazing little tin.. unaltered on the outside to masquarade as a simple tin of altoids….

It's a mint tin!

but once opened…. WOW!!!!

I KNOW!!!! can you believe it????

The super talented and ever so crafty Chrissy says:

“Here’s my Day of the Dead tin!I kept it pretty simple because the skulliez are so darn small.

They are decorated using fine tip sharpies and a some what steady hand.”

(***SOME  WHAT????: Ngaire.****)

“For the inside of the tin itself, I just cut black cardstock and
layered some Punchinella over it.  Turns out, the Punchi was
perfection.

I liked the look of the beads I made the banners with and decided they
matched the feel and look I wanted perfectly.”

Red Punchinella and bead banners

“The little acrylic flower thingies are YEEEEEARS old and have been in my stash for who
knows how long!  The podiums are made from wood micro spools and miniature milk jugs.”

(***OF COURSE THEY ARE !! HOW do you think of these things, woman??***: Ngaire)

there are NO words.

“I just painted them and glued everything together. The beads and the skulliez are from Oriental Trading Company.  I couldn’t believe how fast it came together.  Once I started, it just flowed!”

Chrissy.. you are the skullie  MASTER. I bow before your DOTD brilliance.

and  as an added bonus..we have a SKULLERIFIC layout from Michelle too! Oh how this makes my black heart sing.

"eternal love"

Michelle says:
“For this project I used some papers from the Black Out mixed media color kit, fishing line, a plastic Ikea cake doily and flowers from Prima and Petaloo. The skulls in the photo were made of some very delicate material so they stayed in the store but I snagged a couple of shots before I left. Many of the paper roses were colored black using acrylic paint or Tattered angels Glimmer Glam in “Oil Slick”. “

More cool DOTD stuff tomorrow for your viewing pleasure..and check out some DOTD goodness over at my  Pinterest

until next we meet…

He who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead; his eyes are closed.
Albert Einstein

Cheers!

Ngaire

x

4 Responses

  1. Wow – both these projects are fantastic – beautiful and very clever too!

  2. Michelle, I effing LOOOOOOOoooooOOOOOVE your page! OMG. I HAD to pin it!

  3. GREAT stuff!!!

  4. You gals rock so frakin’ hard I can’t stand it. WHOAWOW!

Leave a Reply

