November’s Guest Designer

Hi everyone! Maggi here to share some projects and introduce Gauche Alchemy’s guest designer for November: the amazingly talented, Frieda Oxenham!

In 2010, I got a chance to interview Frieda for Gauche Alchemy and today I’m so honored to announce that she is this month’s guest designer!  Frieda’s projects are a blend of so many artistic sensibilities.  She creates ATCs, art journals, art quilts and so much more using fabric, beads, paper, pictures, quotes, inks and who knows what else.

I have admired and drooled over Frieda’s work for years now and you have no idea how thrilled I am to have her designing for us this month. She got a chance to play with our new kit, Bare Nekkid before anyone else and I’ll be sharing her first projects with you next week. Until then, Yvonne and I would like to share our Frieda-inspired projects with you and let you get to know Frieda herself.

Frieda tells us:

“I am an award winning quilt artist whose work has been exhibited both home and abroad,and has won many prizes; most recently my journal quilts Drowned in Beauty and The Mystery of Sin won 1st Prize in the Fantasy JQ competition, Spring 2011, and the quilt Flower Petals won the Theme section at the National Quilt Championships, Sandown, June 2010. The quilt Tod und Leben won the Computer Design Prize at the same show in June 2009. In September 2008 Tod und Leben also won the Best Hand Workmanship prize (Innovative section) at the World Quilt and Textile show, Manchester, NH, USA and in August 2007 my quilt Waves of Anger won this same prize at the same event. My wallhanging Foxfires was the Championship Quilt of the European Quilt Championships, Oct. 2006 and my quilt Waterrings won the Scottish Quilt Championships in 1998. I have also entered the world of mixed media and my ATC Enduring, Unending won Best of Show in the House of Cards exhition, Columbus, Ohio, 2005. I worked as a member of the Alpha Stamps Design Team for 4 years from 2007-2010. My art has been published in a wide variety of magazines and books both here in the U.K. and abroad.”

Frieda is a a lover of nature, art and literature and Yvonne and I had so much to be inspired by for this month’s Captain’s Project.

Yvonne created this canvas using her parent’s wedding photo:

She used a sewing pattern for the base. She then layered black plastic canvas, patterned paper and punchinella and “dressed” up the clothespins for the bride and groom, all from the Bare Nekkid Kit.

Knowing Frieda’s love of nature, I created this canvas:

I used our ACME Kit, both the Dark and Light Woodgrain Punchinella and our Blue Streak Mixed Media Color Kit.  We can’t wait to show off Frieda’s projects so make sure to tune in next Thursday for some awesome Frieda creations!

Until then, go glue something awesome onto some awesome something! 😀

Maggi

6 Responses

  1. Love your use of sequin waste …never seen wood grain before

  2. I’m thrilled that Frieda will be guest designing here @ GA. FABULOUS! Her creations are always a delight & I can’t wait to see what she creates here-YAY!

  3. Maggi THANK YOU so much for introducing Frida’s work to me- I LOVE her blog! The piece she made for this kit is AMAZING!!! and I LOVE how you used the punchinella in your background AND the border around it as well- fabulous work in this post!!!

  4. Holy cow! I just took a peek at her work with this kit and I LOVE it!! I can’t wait until it’s shown! I’m a new follower fo’ sho’!

  5. Love your and Yvonne’s creations. Hope mine will live up to them. And many thanks for inviting me to be your Guest Designer. It’s a real honour and you should have heard my shrieks of delight when I first opened the Bare Nekkid kit!
    And welcome to my blog! It’s wonderful to have new followers.

  6. Oh I just love the bride and groom pegs. Both these projects are so different and yet inspired by the same person. Fabulous 🙂

    Can’t wait to see Frieda’s projects.

Leave a Reply

