Cat’s Treasure Box

Hi everyone! Maggi here to share with you the wonderful project our guest designer for December, Cat Kerr, created with our new Knick Kack Paddy Whack Kit.

Treasure Box Art Doll

Cat says:

Has anyone ever seen the French movie called “Amelie”? …well it’s a lovely little movie and in the movie the main character finds a box hidden within her bathroom wall. When she opens the box, it’s full of game pieces, toy cars and little notes. Obviously belonging to a little boy a long time ago, her mission quickly became to return this box full of treasures to its rightful owner. To see if she did, well, you would have to watch the movie.

Anyway, when I first opened my sweet package from GA that treasure box from the movie was the first thing I thought of. It became clear, that my tribute to these treasures from long ago would be to create a home for them. A place where they can proudly be displayed and looked upon and treasured forever.

I first painted the wood box a color found in some of the ephemera. I cut out pieces to fit inside each cavity of the box and using the Punchinella I added some additional paint to the top of each paper. I glued in the ephemera cut outs and then covered the outside of the box with paper, and sanded the edges. Lastly I put black paper on the sides of each cavity and put it aside for later.

I then began the process of distressing some doll parts I had on hand and put them aside. I used the same technique on the scrabble tiles and later covered them in ICE Resin. Using more ICE Resin on some ephemera, I cut out the paper wings and attached them to metal sheets that were hand cut.

Now it was time to assemble. With small finishing nails I attached the wings to the back. Glued in all the yummy findings and scrabble tile. Once dry, I glued the head in place along with the arms that were suspended with wire. Lastly I added some gauze to the neck and a metal finding from the kit in which I added the image and covered in ICE Resin.

This box can stand on its own or can hang from the already installed metal clips.

Additional products used in this demonstration: Sheet Metal, Doll parts, ICE Resin®

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to play with one of your kits!!

And thank you so much for sharing your talent with us here at Gauche Alchemy, Cat! Our Knick Kack Paddy Whack Kit is now available in the Gauche Alchemy store.

Now go glue something awesome onto some awesome something!

Maggi 😀

3 Responses

  1. Amazing!!!

  2. Oh crap! That’s AWESOME! Thanks for designing for us, Cat!

  3. […] More on Cat’s wonderfully detailed process can be read in the original post here. […]

Leave a Reply

